Chennai Super Kings
Source: Hindustan Times

Updated: 15 November 2022

IPL 2023 Mini Auction: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Retained and Released Players List. As many as ten teams take part in the Indian Premier League but Chennai Super Kings can be said to be the team with the greatest legacy. With a not-so-convincing season last year, even after a mid-season captaincy switch from Jadeja to CSK veteran MS Dhoni, the men in yellow would be looking to make a few changes to their squad in this year’s mini-auction.

The Men in yellow had a very disappointing start to the season last year sharing similar figures with arch-rivals Mumbai Indians. Both the giants of IPL began their season with 4 consecutive losses. 

Though they had a very convincing lineup with last year’s (2021), orange cap holder, Ruturaj Gaikwad and current rank 2 in T20I’s Devon Conway opening the batting for them alongside experienced Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Dwayne Bravo and the skipper Ravindra Jadeja.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Venue, Team List, Format, Predicted Schedule, And Winners List

However, CSK before the mega auction of 2022 had bid adieu to their veteran and most versatile batsman Suresh Raina who has great numbers in the yellow color, and was neither seen showing any interest to bring him back to their squad. 

Though they had a bad start to their tournament, still they managed to crumble back with some great performances from their underdog Shivam Dube, veteran Dhoni, Uthappa, and their deck of bowlers. Still, they ended 9th in the league stage with just 8 points having won just 4 out of 14 played.   

With lots of big names on their squad let’s take a look at the players CSK is expected to retain before the IPL 2023 mini-auction.

Chennai Super Kings: Retained Players List

  1. Ruturaj Gaikwad
  2. Devon Conway
  3. MS Dhoni
  4. Ravindra Jadeja
  5. Moeen Ali
  6. R Hangargekar
  7. Shivam Dube
  8. Deepak Chahar 
  9. Mahesh Theekshana
  10. Robin Uthappa
  11. Dwaine Pretorious
  12. Mukesh Chowdhry 
  13. Tushar Deshpande 
  14. Simranjeet Singh
  15. M Santner
  16. P Solanki
  17. Senapati
  18. Pathirana

Also Read:- IPL 2023 Auction: Mumbai Indians Retained and Released Players List

With a disappointing last season, the CSK team management has to make some harsh calls by releasing some of their very favorites. Among them are some big names like Ambati Rayudu or the English pacer Jordan. 

Note- Robin Uthappa will not be part of IPL 2023, because a few months back they announced their retirement from all forms of cricket.

Chennai Super Kings: Released Players List (Tentative)

Robin Uthappa, Dwyane Bravo

Chris Jordan


Adam Milne

KM Asif, Bhagath Varma & Hari Nishaanth

IPL 2023 Mini Auction Details

Following last year’s Mega auction and all teams set and geared up for more than just one edition, this year there will be a mini-auction with last year’s unsold players and the players released by their respective franchises to be held on the 23rd of December, 2022 in Kochi.

Approximately 650+ players are gearing up to test their fortunes and with many recent big purchases last year we are not hoping to see a very happening auction this year.