T20 World Cup 2024
Image Source- icc-cricket.com

Updated: 05 January 2024

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Format, Team, Qualification, Venue, Schedule, And Broadcasters. The Men’s ICC T20 world cup 2024 will be the 9th edition of cricket’s shortest format mega ICC event, to be played in June 2024. It will be the first time that any ICC event will take place in a country that is not common to stage cricket matches of such magnitude.

The United States of America and the West Indies will be the joint hosts for the 9th edition of the Men’s ICC T20 world cup 2024. 55 matches will be organized among the 20 teams. According to Espncricinfo T20 World Cup 2024 will be played from June 4 to June 30.


A total of 66 countries will compete over the next two years in the qualifying process for the 2024 World Cup. 28 teams from Europe (across three events), 14 teams from Africa (across two events), 9 teams from Asia (across two events), 8 teams from the Americas (across two events), and seven teams from the EAP (across two events).

Also Read: WTC 2023-25: Updated Points Table After AUS vs PAK 2nd Test

A total of 20 teams will feature in the ICC T20 world cup 2024. The eight top-performing teams at the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, to take place in Australia, alongside hosts USA and West Indies, will automatically qualify for the 2024 edition of the marquee tournament.

India, Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Netherlands, Ireland, USA, West Indies, Pakistan, Canada, Oman, Nepal, Uganda and Namibia have qualified for the T20 World Cup 2024.

T20 World Cup 2024 Groups

Group A:
India, Pakistan, Canada, Ireland, USA

Group B:
Scotland, England, Australia, Namibia, Oman

Group C:
Afghanistan, New Zealand, West Indies, Uganda, Papua New Guinea.

Group D:
Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Also Read: ICC Awards 2023: ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer Of The Year 2023 Nominees Announced, Featuring Virat Kohli

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Venues

As mentioned above, the West Indies and the USA will jointly host the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Out of the 55 matches slated to take place, around one-third will happen in the United States and the rest in West Indies.

On September 22 ICC confirmed the 10 venues for the tournament.

New York, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Dallas, Guyana, St Lucia, Dominica, Trinidad, Tobago, Florida, and St Vincent are the venues that will host the T20 World Cup 2024 matches from 4 to 30 June.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

The supreme governing body of world cricket has confirmed that the 9th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will take place from 4 June to 30 June 2024. The detailed schedule is yet to be released by ICC. We will update you with the detailed schedule as soon as it is released.

ICC T20 World Cup Previous Winners List

The inaugural ICC T20 world cup saw India defeat arch-rivals Pakistan in a nail-biting final. West Indies is the most successful team, with 2 title wins in the ICC T20 World Cup. Given below is the winner’s list of all editions:

YearWinner teamRunner up teamHost country
2021AustraliaNew ZealandOman & UAE
2016West IndiesEnglandIndia
2014Sri LankaIndiaBangladesh
2012West IndiesSri LankaSri Lanka
2010EnglandAustraliaWest Indies
2009PakistanSri LankaEngland
2007IndiaPakistanSouth Africa

Also Read: World Cup 2023: Winners To Take Home $4 Million As ICC Announces Prize Money For The Tournament

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Broadcasters List

The ICC media rights auction for all ICC events from 2024-2031 will conclude by this year-end. Star India had bagged the ICC media rights for the previous cycle (2015-2023) for a whopping USD 2 billion. We can expect this figure to increase exponentially for the next cycle( 2024-2031).