IPL 2024: Shivam Mavi
Shivam Mavi, Image Source: Twitter

SETBACK For LSG: Pacer Shivam Mavi Withdraws From IPL 2024 Due To Injury. LSG’s Shivam Mavi announced his unfortunate exit from the remainder of the IPL 2024 season in a video released on Wednesday, April 3. Despite joining the Lucknow outfit during the IPL 2024 auction, Mavi was yet to make an appearance in any game this season. His aspirations of returning to the field after a two-year hiatus in the competition were shattered due to this recent setback.

Mavi, who previously represented GT in the IPL 2023 season, unfortunately, did not get a chance to play a single match during their journey to the final. Despite this setback, LSG acquired the services of the talented Uttar Pradesh pacer for a hefty sum of 6.4 crore rupees during the auction for IPL 2024.

In a video statement, Mavi disclosed that he had been nursing an injury upon joining the team and was optimistic about his prospects of playing in the ongoing season. However, the severity of the injury has compelled him to exit the team camp and commence his rehabilitation process.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Full Schedule, Results, And Player Of The Match Award

“I’ll miss it a lot. I came here hoping to play matches for the team after recovering from my injury. Unfortunately, I have to leave now because of it,” Mavi expressed, sharing his disappointment at being sidelined due to injury.

“A cricketer must be mentally strong for situations like this. How do you come back and take care of an injury like this? We have a very good team here,” Mavi remarked, underscoring the significance of mental strength in bouncing back from setbacks and expressing faith in the team’s abilities despite his absence.

Also Read: Big Blow For CSK: Mustafizur Rahman Set To Miss Few Matches Of IPL 2024

LSG Updated Squad For IPL 2024: 

Quinton de Kock, Mayank Yadav, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Hooda, Devdutt Padikkal, Marcus Stoinis, KL Rahul (c), Krunal Pandya, Yudhvir Singh, Ayush Badoni, Prerak Mankad, Mohsin Khan, Arshin Kulkarni, Ravi Bishnoi, Amit Mishra, Shamar Joseph (replacement for Mark Wood), Naveen-ul-Haq, Yash Thakur, Ashton Turner, K. Gowtham, M. Siddharth, Kyle Mayers, Matt Henry (replacement for David Willey), Mohd. Arshad Khan.