Image Source: WIC/ Twitter

India vs West Indies 2023: BCCI Announces Squad For 2 Test And 3 ODIs, Pujara Dropped. Team India will start the WTC 2023–25 cycle with the West Indies series after the second World Test Championship, WTC 2021–23, came to a dismal conclusion with a loss to Australia in the championship match. The series against the West Indies will start on July 12 and finish on July 24.

India will visit the West Indies in July of this year to play a multi-format bilateral series, not just two test matches. There will also be an ODI series and a T20I series on the tour.

Today BCCI announces squad for two tests and 3 ODIs. Surprisingly Cheteshwar Pujara has been dropped from test squad.

Indian Squad For Ind vs WI Series

The test and ODI squads have just been revealed by BCCI. Previously, it was anticipated that some of the more experienced players, like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mohammad Shami, and Mo. Siraj, would be included in the test squad; however, they will not be included in the ODI and T20 series.

Nevertheless, it is obvious from looking at the team that BCCI is not in the mood to rest any veteran players. The normal squads, Rohit Sharma is leading both the squads, with only a few modifications, have been confirmed by BCCI.

1. Cheteshwar Pujara is rested for the Tests and IPL’s 2023 Sensation Yashasvi Jaiswal got a chance in place of Pujara.

2. Ruturaj Gaikwad also got selected for the test squad which means Jaiswal, Gaikwad and Kishan three players can make their test debut.

3. Sajnu Samson is back in a ODI squad.

4. Highly anticipated Arshdeep Singh did not gt place in the squad. Singh was prominent in Indian t20s since last year after Bumrah got injured. However this time BCCI has ignored him and gave chance to Mukesh Kumar.

Squad For 2 Test Matches

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Navdeep Saini.

Also Read: ODI World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venue, Date, Teams, Live Streaming, And Prize Pool Details

Squad For 3 ODI Matches

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

India vs West Indies Schedule

The Test series will consist of two matches, the ODI series of three games, and the T20I series of five games.

12 July – 17 July:               1st  Test

20 July – 25 July:               2nd Test

27th July:                            1st ODI

29th July:                             2nd ODI

1st August:                          3rd ODI

3rd August:                          1st T20

6th August:                          2nd T20

8th August:                          3rd T20

12th August:                       4th T20

13th August:                       5th T20