India vs Bangladesh
Image Source: Twitter @ICC

Updated: 23 June 2024

IND vs BAN T20 World Cup 2024: India Moves Closer to Semis with 50-Run Win Over Bangladesh. India continued their unbeaten run in the ongoing T20 mega event with a convincing victory over Bangladesh on Saturday. The Rohit Sharma-led side secured a dominant 50-run win, moving one step closer to the semi-finals of the 2024 T20 World Cup

Throughout their innings, India followed an attacking approach. They made 196 for 5 in 20 overs due to an unbeaten half-century by Hardik Pandya off 27 balls near the end. Even though no one from the Indian top order could play a big knock, they played a few short yet impactful innings. The opening partnership between Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma laid a good foundation. 

Bangladesh won the toss and decided to field first which was in line with what Rohit Sharma, the Indian skipper, mentioned about his team preferring batting first. Despite not winning the toss Rohit Sharma expressed happiness because both sides got what they wanted. Also, Tanzim Hasan Sakib starred with the ball for Bangladesh as he claimed 2 wickets conceding 32 runs in 4 overs including the vital wicket of Virat Kohli.

In response, Bangladesh struggled to build momentum against India’s disciplined bowling attack, with key performances from Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav, who kept the pressure on the Bangladeshi batsmen. However, this victory reinforces India’s position as a formidable contender in the tournament.

Also Read: AFG vs AUS T20 World Cup 2024 Super 8: Date, Time, Venues, Head to Head, Pitch Report, Playing XI And Squads

IND vs AFG Playing XIs For Today’s Match

India Playing XI: Rishabh Pant (w), Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Axar Patel, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube

Afghanistan Playing XI: Towhid Hridoy, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mahedi Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Litton Das (w), Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman, Jaker Ali, Tanzid Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto (c)