Big Bash League 2022-23
Source: Times Now

KFC Big Bash League (BBL) 2022-23: Winners List, Captains Of All Teams, And Who Will Win The Title? Predictions. The BBL, or KFC Big Bash League, is one of the most prestigious domestic cricket leagues in the world, alongside the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Big Bash has been promising over the years, producing many good players and also providing a global platform for players from around the world. 

The Big Bash League started in 2011 with its first edition and replaced the KFC T20 Big Bash with eight teams participating instead of six states. The first edition was won by the Sydney Sixers, who defeated the Perth Scorchers; both of these teams went on to be highly successful in the long run. 

Many players from around the world have performed exquisitely in the BBL, and many have been great slaves to the Big Bash. Chris Lynn, the Aussie domestic t20 veteran, is the highest scorer of the tournament with 3157 runs in 107 matches at an average of 34, striking at 145+.

Other veteran batters include Aussie T20I skipper Aaron Finch with 2935 runs and furious Aussie all-rounder Maxwell with 2673 runs at a strike rate of 130 and 150+, respectively. Bowling talents like Sean Abbott, Andrew Tye, and Kane Richardson have been spearheads with 132, 126, and 118 scalps, respectively. 

Also Read: IPL 2023 CSK: Complete List Of Players Bought By Chennai Super Kings (CSK) At Auction And Full Squad

List Of Big Bash League (BBL) Winners & Runners-up

SeasonWinners ListRunners-Up
2011/12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012/13Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers
2013/14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes 
2014/15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015/16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016/17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017/18Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes 
2018/19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars 
2019/20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020/21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021/22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship 2021-2023: Stats, Records, Updated Points Table, And All You Need To Know

BBL 2022/23 – The Season So far

This season is the 12th edition of this league; over the years, teams like the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers have been the most successful teams in the league, with 4 and 3 title wins, respectively. This season, many big players are on international duty, representing their national sides, and preparing for several upcoming tournaments across both the Test and ODI formats. Still, the league can grab many spectators’ attention with its exciting gameplay.

Teams like the Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades, and Perth Scorchers are giving gripping performances to their spectators, and even the others are not ready to easily give up and are giving tough competition to their opponents. 

Also Read: IPL Auction 2023 Delhi Capitals: Full List Of DC Players After Auction

BBL 2022/23 – Teams, Captains

Adelaide StrikersTravis Head / Pitter Siddle
Brisbane HeatUsman Khawaja / J Peirson
Hobart HurricanesMatthew Wade
Melbourne RenegadesNic Maddinson
Melbourne StarsGlenn Maxwell / Adam Zampa
Perth ScorchersAshton Turner
Sydney SixersMoises Henriques
Sydney ThunderJason Sangha

Predicted Winner Of BBL 2022/23

Picking a winner from among many is difficult with only a few games played and some teams even performing well in the league. However, few have achieved prominence, leaving us with only 1-2 teams from which to predict the winner. 

Though the Renegades, Strikers, and Heat all have shown batting excellence, mostly on Australian pitches, a good bowling side usually emerges victorious. The defending champions, the Perth Scorchers, look to be the most promising side in this year’s BBL, with their team having one of the most developed bowling units. With Jhye Richardson, Behrendoff, Tye, and Agar all on their side, the Scorchers from western Australia are the best bowling team in the tournament. 

With all factors considered, the Perth Scorchers can be the winners of the 2022–23 season of the BBL.