ICC WTC 2023
ICC WTC 2021-2023

Updated: 14 January 2023

ICC World Test Championship 2021-2023: Stats, Records, Updated Points Table, And All You Need To Know. The International cricket council (ICC), the governing body of cricket in the world in its attempt to revive test cricket, brought a unique concept in 2019, with the name of the ICC Test championship.

The main objective behind it was to have separate pinnacle trophies for all three formats. According to the format of the ICC Test championship, each test-playing nation is supposed to play home and away matches over 2 years. At the end of the second year, the top 2 teams will play in the finals.

ICC Test championship 2019-2021: Overview

The first edition of the ICC Test championship began in 2019 with the iconic Ashes series and culminated with the final match between India and New Zealand. New Zealand defeated India in the finals of the world test championship played between 18-23 June 2021 at Southampton.

Also Read: IPL 2023 CSK: Complete List Of Players Bought By Chennai Super Kings (CSK) At Auction And Full Squad

ICC Test championship 2021-2023: Overview

The second cycle of the ICC Test championship started on 4th August 2021 with a test match between India and England. It is scheduled to finish on March 31st, 2023. The final of the second cycle of the ICC Test championship will be played at the Oval in the month of June 2023.

ICC WTC Format

The second cycle of the ICC Test championship will be played over two years, with 69 matches, covering 27 series scheduled for the league stage from which the top two teams will advance to the final. Each participating team is scheduled to play six series, with three at home and three away.

For every win, 12 points will be awarded. If the match ends in a tie, 6 points will be awarded. If there is no result, 4 points will be given. There will be 0 points if the team loses.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Mini Auction Mumbai Indians: Retained, Released Players List And Full Squad For 2023 After Auction

ICC Test Championship 2021-2023: Top Stats

Most runs- Joe Root (England) – 1915 runs- 40 innings.

Highest score- Tom Lathom (New Zealand) – 252 vs Bangladesh

Best batting average- Jamie Overton (England)- 97

Highest runs- England -657 vs Pakistan

Highest victory margin- New Zealand (innings and 276 runs) vs South Africa

Most centuries- Joe Root (England) – 8

Most fifties- Joe Root (England)-14

Most sixes- Ben Stokes (England)-28

Most wickets- Nathan Lyon (Australia) – 61

Best bowling figures in a match- AY Patel (New Zealand)- 14/225 vs India

Most dismissals as a wicketkeeper- Rishabh Pant (India)- 48

ICC Test Championship 2021-2023: Updated Points Table:

RankTeamMatchesWonLossDrawnPCT (%)PointsSeries
3Sri Lanka1054153.33645
4South Africa1266050.00725
6West Indies1145240.91545
8New Zealand0926125.93284