World Test Championship 2023-25 Standing and Upcoming Fixtures
Image Source:

World Test Championship 2023-25 Points Table and Upcoming Schedule. The 2023-25 repeat of the World Test Championship marks its third edition, which commenced on June 16, 2023, and concluded with the final at Lord’s, London, in June 2025. Nevertheless, Australia defended their championship title, securing victory in the 2023 WTC Final by defeating India with a margin of 209 runs. The competition transits two years, featuring 68 matches across 27 series in the league stage. The final will include the top two teams from the points table.

The league comprises nine teams, excluding Afghanistan, Ireland, and Zimbabwe, all of which are full members. Moreover, Each team is scheduled to play between 12 and 22 matches, facing six other teams in a combination of three home and three away matches. The series format may range from two to five Tests.

The 2023-25 WTC cycle predicts an exciting competition, where the premier Test-playing nations compete for supremacy. Pakistan’s early dominance adds intensity to the race, as India, Australia, and others aim to challenge their position. However, Throughout the WTC cycle, the evolving points table will mirror the dynamic fortunes of teams in the realm of Test cricket.

The WTC points table is of great importance for multiple reasons. It offers a transparent view of each team’s position in the global Test cricket arena, impacting seeding and qualification for the WTC final. Moreover, the points table acts as a motivational tool, urging teams to aim for higher positions and attain greater success in Test cricket. Let’s examine the Points Table for the World Test Championship.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings Before India vs Australia T20I Series

World Test Championship 2023-25 Points Table 

RankTeamPCT (%)Points MWLDrawPenalty 
1Pakistan 100 2422000
2India 66.671621010
3Australia 30.00185221-10
4West Indies 16.67420110
5England 15.0095221-19
6Bangladesh 0000000
7New Zealand 0000000
8South Africa 0000000
9Sri Lanka 0020200

Approaching the midpoint of the WTC 2023-25 cycle. Pakistan leads the pack with a remarkable 100% points percentage, showcasing their dominance. Strong showings in the recent Test series, including a sweep victory against Sri Lanka and a commanding victory over West Indies, have propelled them to the forefront of the points table. However, India, the runners-up in the WTC 2022 finals, currently holds the second spot in the points table with a 66.67% points percentage. Despite facing challenges, such as a series loss to England. India maintains a strong overall Test cricket record, presenting a significant challenge to Pakistan’s leadership.

Also Read: Pakistan Super League 2024: PCB Announces Pick Order For HBL PSL 9 Player Draft

WTC 2023-25 Upcoming Schedule

  • 1st Test, Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 28th November, Sylhet, 09:30 AM (IST)
  • 2nd Test, Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 6th December, Mirpur, 09:30 AM (IST)
  • 1st Test, Pakistan vs Australia, 14th December, Perth, 08:00 AM (IST)
  • 2nd Test, Pakistan vs Australia, 26th December, Melbourne, 05:00 AM (IST)
  • 1st Test, South Africa vs India, 26th December, Centurion, 01:30 PM (IST)
  • 3rd Test, Pakistan vs Australia, 3rd January, Sydney, 05:00 AM (IST)
  • 2nd Test, South Africa vs India, Cape Town, 01:30 PM (IST)
  • 1st Test, Australia vs West Indies, 17th January, Adelaide, 05:30 AM (IST)
  • 2nd Test, Australia vs West Indies, 25th January, Brisbane, 05:30 AM (IST)

World Test Championship (WTC) FAQs

Where is the venue for the WTC 2023 final?

-The WTC final in 2025 will take place at Lord’s, London.

How many times has India emerged victorious in the WTC?

-India has secured the runner-up position in both WTC editions to date, losing to New Zealand in 2021 and Australia in 2023.

Also Read: Afghanistan To Tour India For Three-Match T20I Series From January 11 To 17

Does the Ashes 2023 contribute to the World Test Championship?

-Indeed, the Ashes 2023 is part of the World Test Championship 2023-25.

How many teams compete in the World Test Championship?

-9 teams are competing in the World Test Championship 2023-25.