T20 World Cup 2024 Prize Money
Image Source: Twitter

T20 World Cup 2024: How Will The INR 125 Cr Prize Money Be Distributed?. BCCI announced prize money of INR 125 crore after India won the T20 World Cup 2024. During a grand celebration at Wankhede Stadium on June 4, the BCCI awarded the captain Rohit Sharma and head coach Rahul Dravid in front of thousands of fans who had gathered to celebrate the success of the Men in Blue.

According to reports, each of the 15 squad members will receive INR 5 crore. Head coach Rahul Dravid will also receive INR 5 crore, while the rest of the coaching staff will earn INR 2.5 crore each. The backroom staff, including the video production team, will each receive an award of INR 2 crore. The selection committee, led by former cricketer Ajit Agarkar, will receive INR 1 crore each. Additionally, BCCI rewarded reserve players like Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, and Avesh Khan with INR 1 crore each.

Along with the BCCI, the state also awarded cash to their players. The Maharashtra administration awarded a total of INR 11 crore to Rohit Sharma, Shivam Dube, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Suryakumar Yadav, although they have not yet disclosed the distribution details.

On the other hand, the International Cricket Council (ICC) awarded Team India $2.45 million, equivalent to INR 20.37 crore. BCCI’s financial position has become so strong that they could raise the amounts paid to every player by nearly six times, which is indeed a seismic change from the previous practice. For example, after the 1983 ODI World Cup victory, each player earned just INR 25,000. In contrast, players today receive significantly higher remuneration.

Also Read: IND vs ZIM 2nd T20I: Team India Crushes Zimbabwe By 100 Runs

The Economic Times has reported that the IPL has recently transformed Indian cricket financially. BCCI made it clear to all the players that they will get financial rewards when they play international cricket. Also, if they choose international cricket as their priority, remaining big IPL events will lead to missed financial opportunities.

Meanwhile, BCCI secretary Jay Shah has confirmed that Rohit Sharma will continue as captain for the upcoming World Test Championship final and the Champions Trophy.