T20 World Cup 2024, Afghanistan Squad
Rashid Khan Image Source: Twitter rashidkhan_19

T20 World Cup 2024: Afghanistan Schedule, Venues And Full Squad. Afghanistan will begin their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Uganda on June 4th at Providence Stadium in Guyana. They then face New Zealand at the same venue on June 8th. The team travels to Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad for their clash with Papua New Guinea on June 14th. Their final group stage match is against the West Indies at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in Saint Lucia on June 18th, followed by the Super Eight stage.

After T20 World Cup 2022, Afghanistan has played 23 T20Is, recording 11 wins and 11 losses with one no-result. Despite this record, they head into the 2024 edition with confidence. Many players have gained valuable experience in T20 leagues around the world, particularly the IPL. This exposure will be crucial for Afghanistan to showcase their abilities on the biggest stage.

Also Read: Most Wins As T20I Captain (Babar Azam Tops The List) Check Where Dhoni And Rohit Sharma Stand

Rashid Khan will lead Afghanistan in the T20 World Cup 2024, replacing Hashmatullah Shahidi who captained the team in the ODI World Cup 2023. Interestingly, eight out of the 15-member squad participated in IPL 2024, including Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, and Gulbadin Naib.

The Afghan squad is a well-rounded mix of players, featuring six all-rounders, five bowlers, and four batsmen. The bowling unit offers a balanced combination of pace and spin, with the inclusion of the experienced Mohammad Nabi adding valuable stability. The team will also travel with three reserve players.

Afghanistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan (c), Nangyal Kharoti, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat,

Reserves: Sediq Atal, Hazratullah Zazai, Saleem Safi