Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings
Sam Curran, Image Source: Twitter @IPL

Updated: 16 May 2024

The recent match between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Punjab Kings (PBKS) happened at the energetic Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. Despite Riyan Parag’s commendable score of 48 runs, RR could only manage to reach 144 for 9 on the pitch. In pursuit of this relatively low target, Punjab Kings faced some challenges but ultimately secured a hard-earned victory by 5 wickets, thanks to an impressive innings of 63 runs by their captain, Sam Curran.

The Rajasthan Royals won the coin toss and elected to bat first against the Punjab Kings. Riyan Parag’s resilient innings of 48 runs off 34 balls guided RR to a total of 144 for 9 in their allotted 20 overs after choosing to bat first. Sam Curran, Rahul Chahar, and Harshal Patel were the standout bowlers for PBKS, each claiming two wickets.

Punjab Kings secured a 5-wicket victory over Rajasthan Royals. Chasing a target of 145 runs on a challenging pitch at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium, PBKS successfully reached the target in 18.5 overs, largely due to an impressive unbeaten innings of 63 runs off 41 balls by Sam Curran. Despite Avesh Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal taking two wickets each for RR, their efforts were not enough to clinch the win.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: Bangladesh Schedule, Venues And Full Squad

IPL 2024 Points Table Updated After Rajasthan Royals vs Punjab Kings Match

1KKR (Q)139311.42819
2RR (Q)138500.27316
Source: www.iplt20.com

Most Runs After RR vs PBKS Match

  1. Virat Kohli (RCB): 661 runs in 13 innings
  2. Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK): 577 runs in 13 innings
  3. Travis Head (SRH): 533 runs in 13 innings
  4. Riyan Parag (RR): 531 runs in 13 innings
  5. Sai Sudharsan (GT): 527 runs in 13 innings

Most Wickets After RR vs PBKS Match

  1. Harshal Patel (PBKS): 22 wickets
  2. Jasprit Bumrah (MI): 20 wickets
  3. Varun Chakravarthy (KKR): 18 wickets
  4. Khaleel Ahmed (DC): 17 wickets
  5. Mukesh Kumar (DC): 17 wickets

IPL 2024: RR vs PBKS Playing XI

Punjab Kings Playing XI: Harpreet Brar, Rilee Rossouw, Prabhsimran Singh, Nathan Ellis, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran (c), Rahul Chahar, Shashank Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Jitesh Sharma (w), Harshal Patel.

Rajasthan Royals Playing XI: Ravichandran Ashwin, Sanju Samson (w/c), Rovman Powell, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Dhruv Jurel, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Riyan Parag, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma.