Tom Curran
Image Source: England Cricket Board

IPL 2024: 5 Players Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Can Target If Tom Curran Gets Ruled Out. Tom Curran, recently signed by Royal Challengers Bangalore in the recent Indian Premier League (IPL) auction, will be unfortunately missed for the whole of IPL 2024 due to an injury to his playing time in the Big Bash League. This puts RCB management in a situation where they have to search for a replacement on an urgent basis.

Here we take a look at the five players who can make an impact in place of English all-rounder Tom Curran. Whoever they decide as the replacement, the RCB management is left in a fix in looking for a prized scalp of an international recruit who can keep them in contention for silverware this season.

RCB’s Possible Target Players If Tom Curran Gets Ruled Out From IPL 2024

1.Dasun Shanaka

Dasun Shanaka is an all-rounder whose contributions to batting and bowling were more than handy in the IPL Qualifier 1 against Chennai. His belligerent innings of 17 from only 16 balls at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium showed that he was no mug with the willow. However, he had a very brief stay at the crease and scored a duck in Match No. 70 against Bangalore at M.Chinnaswamy Stadium off only three balls. His all-round skills make him a true option to replace Tom Curran for RCB.

Also Read: IND vs ENG 2nd Test: Stats, Records, Pitch Report Of Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy Vizag Cricket Stadium

2.Shamar Joseph

Shamar Joseph played a destructive bowling performance for the West Indies during their historic Test win against Australia after 27 years in Australia. His magnificent seven-wicket haul at Gabba almost single-handedly inspired them to their eight-run victory. Therefore, if Tom Curran stays out of the Indian Premier League duel, Joseph’s ability to soak up pressure and deliver telling blows at critical junctures will find favor in the eyes of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team management.

3.Jason Holder

Considered a decent batsman who can also deliver the ball, Jason Holder has been reasonably weak with deliveries from both departments of the game. With a highest score of 47* and an effective batting average of 12.33, Holder adds to the stability of the lower order. He has taken 53 wickets at an average of 27.57 in bowling, and he shows his worth. He brings along his ability and experience, which makes him a very desirable addition to RCB.

4.Daniel Sams

The hard-hitter all-rounder Daniel Sams has made a valuable contribution both with the bat and with the ball in his T20 career. Overall, his high strike rate of 100.00 shows that he bats aggressively, despite his batting average looking rather unflattering.

With the ball in hand, Sams has taken 14 wickets at an average of 37.36, which suggests that he too can make telling contributions when the team needs it the most. The double impact of Sams makes him a likely one to bolster the RCB side.

Also Read: IND vs ENG: India’s Strongest Playing 11 For 2nd Test vs England And Updated Squad

5.David Wiese

David Wiese is an all-rounder, displaying power-hitting capabilities in addition to good precision in bowling. With a batting average of 4.89 and strike rate of 100.00, it is towards the end of the innings when it matters that Wiese gathers runs. He has picked up 14 wickets with an average of 37.36, which indicates how handy he is to the side when it comes to his bowling record. Wiese’s all-round abilities make him a very good choice for RCB in their hunt for a replacement.

It’s just a matter for the RCB management to assess and match the team dynamics with requirements before they nail down the replacement for the injured Tom Curran in the upcoming IPL season in 2024.

RCB players bought at the IPL 2024 auction:

  1. Yash Dayal (Rs. 5 crore)
  2. Tom Curran (Rs. 1.5 crore)
  3. Saurav Chauhan (Rs. 20 lakh)
  4. Alzarri Joseph (Rs. 11.50 crore)
  5. Swapnil Singh (Rs. 20 lakh)
  6. Lockie Ferguson (Rs. 2 crore)

RCB Full Squad for IPL 2024

Faf du Plessis (c), Glenn Maxwell, Virat Kohli, Akash Deep, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyash Prabhudessai, Will Jacks, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Manoj Bhandage, Saurav Chauhan, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Siraj, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Cameron Green, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Lockie Ferguson, Swapnil Singh, Mayank Dagar.