IND vs ENG 2nd Test
Image Source: BCCI Twitter

IND vs ENG 2nd Test, Day 1 Report: India 336/6 At Stumps Yashasvi Jaiswal Not Out On 179. India and England are facing each other once again for the 2nd Test match of England’s tour of India 2024. The game is currently being conducted at the Dr Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam and the young Indian Batter Yashasvi Jaiswal has stood tall amongst the Indian squad.

The 2nd Test of the five-match Test series commenced with the Indian skipper Rohit Sharma choosing to bat first on the tricky pitch of Vizag, only to depart once again for a low score. Sharma once again faced an embarrassing dismissal as he got caught by the English batsman Ollie Pope for 14 runs followed by Shubman Gill who lost his wicket to Tom Hartley once again after the 1st Test at the score of 34.

Also Read: IND vs ENG: ICC Test Team And Player Rankings Ahead Of India vs England 2nd Test

Yashasvi Jaiswal heading toward the first double-century

Indian Batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal got the team a huge lead as he stood tall as a one-man army on Day 1 of the 2nd Test. Jaiswal scored 179* runs off 257 deliveries with a strike rate of 69.65. He smashed 17 fours and 5 sixes across the park to lead India to a score of 336 at the end of 93 overs. India’s middle order couldn’t break through the Strategies of the English bowlers and the team lost six wickets in the first innings of day one.

Shreyas Iyer, Rajat Patidar, Axar Patel, and Srikar Bharat put 27,32,27, and 17 runs respectively on the board, making way for India’s most experienced test player Ravichandran Ashwin on the field. Day 2 of the 2nd Test will begin with Yashasvi Jaiswal taking the strike at the score of 179 alongside Ravichandran Ashwin who stands at the score of 5, after scoring a boundary on the second last ball of the day.

IND vs ENG Playing 11 2nd Test Match

India 11: Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Srikar Bharat (wk), Rajat Patidar, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav

England 11: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes(c), Ben Foakes(w), Rehan Ahmed, Shoaib Bashir, Tom Hartley, James Anderson