T20 World Cup 2024 New Rules
Image Source: ICC

All you need to know about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The ninth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will have a record 20 teams, hosted by the USA and West Indies from June 1-29. The teams are divided into four groups of five for the first stage, with each team playing at least four matches against others in their group.

The top two teams from each group move on to the Super 8s stage, while the bottom three teams from each group are eliminated. In the Super 8s, officials divide the remaining eight teams into two groups, and each team competes in three matches against the others in their group.aaa The top two teams from each Super 8s group then advance to the semi-finals. The semi-final winners will play in the final in Barbados on June 29.

The tournament will use three USA venues and six Caribbean venues. Lauderhill, Dallas, and New York will host 16 matches, including the big India vs. Pakistan game at the new Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in Long Island on June 9. In the Caribbean, 41 matches will played across six countries. The semi-finals will be in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, with the final in Barbados on June 29.

Also Read: Dwayne Bravo Signs On As Afghanistan Bowling Consultant For T20 World Cup 2024aa

Rules For The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

During the T20 World Cup, if a match ties, the teams will play a Super Over to decide the winner. If the Super Over also ends in a tie, they will continue playing more Super Overs until one team wins. Moreover, if necessary, extra time will be provided to complete all knockout matches in the semi-finals and final stages of the tournament.

For both semi-finals, there’s a total of 250 extra minutes available. The first semi-final on June 26 has 60 extra minutes after the day’s play and 190 more minutes available on June 27. The second semi-final on June 27 has 250 extra minutes available. The final on June 29 has a backup day on June 30 in case it can’t finish on time.

T20 World Cup 2024 Groups

Group A: India, Canada, Pakistan, USA, Ireland.

B Group: Scotland, Oman, England, Australia, Namibia.

Group C: Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea, West Indies, New Zealand.

Group D: Netherlands, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal,  South Africa.

Also Read: BCCI Turns To MS Dhoni To Convince Former New Zealand Player To Take Over From Rahul Dravid

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule, Date, Time And Venues

Match NoMatchDateTime (IST)Venues
1USA vs CANADASun Jun 2, 202406:00 AMDallas
2WEST INDIES vs PAPUA NEW GUINEASun Jun 2, 202408:00 PMGuyana
3NAMIBIA vs OMANMon Jun 3, 202406:00 AMBarbados
4SRI LANKA vs SOUTH AFRICAMon Jun 3, 202408:00 PMNew York
5AFGHANISTAN vs UGANDATue Jun 4, 202406:00 AMGuyana
6ENGLAND vs SCOTLANDTue Jun 4, 202408:00 PMBarbados
7NETHERLANDS vs NEPALTue Jun 4, 202409:00 PMDallas
8INDIA vs IRELANDWed Jun 5, 202408:00 PMNew York
9PAPUA NEW GUINEA vs UGANDAThur Jun 6, 202405:00 AMGuyana
10AUSTRALIA vs OMANThur Jun 6, 202406:00 AMBarbados
11USA vs PAKISTANThur Jun 6, 202409:00 PMDallas
12NAMIBIA vs SCOTLANDFri Jun 7, 202412:30 AMBarbados
13CANADA vs IRELANDFri Jun 7, 202408:00 PMNew York
14NEW ZEALAND vs AFGHANISTANSat Jun 8, 202405:00 AMGuyana
15SRI LANKA vs BANGLADESHSat Jun 8, 202406:00 AMDallas
16NETHERLANDS vs SOUTH AFRICASat Jun 8, 202408:00 PMNew York
17AUSTRALIA vs ENGLANDSat Jun 8, 202410:30 PMBarbados
18WEST INDIES vs UGANDASun Jun 9, 202406:00 AMGuyana
19INDIA vs PAKISTANSun Jun 9, 202408:00 PMNew York
20OMAN vs SCOTLANDSun Jun 9, 202410:30 PMAntigua
21SOUTH AFRICA vs BANGLADESHMon Jun 10, 202408:00 PMNew York
22PAKISTAN vs CANADATue Jun 11, 202408:00 PMNew York
23SRI LANKA vs NEPALWed Jun 12, 202405:00 AMFlorida
24AUSTRALIA vs NAMIBIAWed Jun 12, 202406:00 AMAntigua
25USA vs INDIAWed Jun 12, 202408:00 PMNew York
26WEST INDIES vs NEW ZEALANDThur Jun 13, 202406:00 AMTrinidad and Tobago
27BANGLADESH vs NETHERLANDSThur Jun 13, 202408:00 PMSt Vincent
28ENGLAND vs OMANFri Jun 14, 202412:30 AMAntigua
29AFGHANISTAN vs PAPUA NEW GUINEAFri Jun 14, 202406:00 AMTrinidad and Tobago
30USA vs IRELANDFri Jun 14, 202408:00 PMFlorida
31SOUTH AFRICA vs NEPALSat Jun 15, 202405:00 AMSt Vincent
32NEW ZEALAND vs UGANDASat Jun 15, 202406:00 AMTrinidad and Tobago
33INDIA vs CANADASat Jun 15, 202408:00 PMFlorida
34NAMIBIA vs ENGLANDSat Jun 15, 202410:30 PMAntigua
35AUSTRALIA vs SCOTLANDSun Jun 16, 202406:00 AMSt Lucia
36PAKISTAN vs IRELANDSun Jun 16, 202408:00 PMFlorida
37BANGLADESH vs NEPALMon Jun 17, 202405:00 AMSt Vincent
38SRI LANKA vs NETHERLANDSMon Jun 17, 202406:00 AMSt Lucia
39NEW ZEALAND vs PAPUA NEW GUINEAMon Jun 17, 202408:00 PMTrinidad and Tobago
40WEST INDIES vs AFGHANISTANTue Jun 18, 202406:00 AMSt Lucia
41A2 vs D1Wed Jun 19, 202408:00 PMAntigua
42B1 vs C2Thur Jun 20, 202406:00 AMSt Lucia
43C1 vs A1Thur Jun 20, 202408:00 PMBarbados
44B2 vs D2Fri Jun 21, 202406:00 AMAntigua
45B1 vs D1Fri Jun 21, 202408:00 PMSt Lucia
46A2 vs C2Sat Jun 22, 202406:00 AMBarbados
47A1 vs D2Sat Jun 22, 202408:00 PMAntigua
48C1 vs B2Sun Jun 23, 202406:00 AMSt Vincent
49A2 vs B1Sun Jun 23, 202408:00 PMBarbados
50C2 vs D1Mon Jun 24, 202406:00 AMAntigua
51B2 vs A1Mon Jun 24, 202408:00 PMSt Lucia
52C1 vs D2Tue Jun 25, 202406:00 AMSt Vincent
53T.B.C. vs T.B.C.Thur Jun 27, 202406:00 AMTrinidad and Tobago
54T.B.C. vs T.B.C.Thur Jun 27, 202408:00 PMGuyana
55T.B.C. vs T.B.C.Sat Jun 29, 202408:00 PMBarbados

Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Warm-Up Matches Fixture

Before the main tournament begins, there will be practice matches called warm-up fixtures. These matches will happen between May 27 and June 1, involving 17 teams. South Africa will also play a practice match among their own team members in Florida on May 29. 

These practice matches will be shorter, with each team playing 20 overs. They won’t count as official Twenty20 International (T20I) matches. This means teams can use all 15 players in their squad during these matches to practice and prepare.

Also Read: IPL 2024 Eliminator RR vs RCB: Time, Venue, Head To Head, Weather Report, Squad, Playing XI And Live Streaming Details

May 27

Canada vs Nepal in Texas at 10:30 AM

Oman vs Papua New Guinea in Trinidad and Tobago at 3:00 PM

Namibia vs Uganda in Trinidad and Tobago at 7:00 PM

May 28

Sri Lanka vs Netherlands in Florida at 10:30 AM

Bangladesh vs USA in Texas at 10:30 AM

Australia vs Namibia in Trinidad and Tobago at 7:00 PM

May 29

South Africa intra-squad match in Florida at 10:30 AM

Afghanistan vs Oman in Trinidad and Tobago at 1:00 PM

May 30

Nepal vs USA in Texas at 10:30 AM

Scotland vs Uganda in Trinidad and Tobago at 10:30 AM

Netherlands vs Canada in Texas at 3:00 PM

Namibia vs Papua New Guinea in Trinidad and Tobago at 3:00 PM

West Indies vs Australia in Trinidad and Tobago at 7:00 PM

May 31

Ireland vs Sri Lanka in Florida at 10:30 AM

Scotland vs Afghanistan in Florida at 10:30 AM

June 1

Bangladesh vs India (Venue and Time to be confirmed)

Live Streaming Details For T20 World Cup 2024

You can watch the T20 World Cup 2024 for free on Disney+ Hotstar, but here’s the catch: the free streaming is only for mobile users. That means you can’t watch it on your computer or laptop.