BBL 2023-24 teams, schedule
Image Source: Twitter

Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24: Format, Teams, Full Schedule & Where To Watch In India. The Big Bash cricket tournament in Australia is preparing to start its 13th season this December. The opening match on December 7 will see Brisbane Heat face off against Melbourne Stars in Brisbane.

The group stage portion of the competition containing 40 games will conclude on January 17. Then a playoff series between four teams begins on January 19, culminating in the final on January 24.

Last season’s champions were Perth Scorchers, who defeated Brisbane Heat in the title match at Perth Stadium by five wickets. After dominating the regular season schedule with 11 wins from 14 games, the Scorchers finished at the top of the standings.

In contrast, Brisbane Heat battled their way up from a lower position to reach the final, securing a playoff berth in fifth place before getting past Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, and Sydney Sixers. Unfortunately, Melbourne Stars had a tournament to forget, ending with just three victories and in last place.

Also Read: IPL 2024: Full List Of Most Expensive Players In IPL Auction From 2008 To Date

BBL 2023-24 Format

Addressing concerns about the competition’s duration, BBL 13 has implemented a streamlined schedule with 44 matches, a significant reduction from 61 in BBL 12. Teams will now engage in 10 group games instead of 14, and the knock-out stage has been trimmed from five teams to four.

In the revised format, the first and second-placed teams will clash in the Qualifier. The victor secures a direct berth in the final, while the defeated team advances to the Challenger. There, they face the winner of the Knockout (third versus fourth) for the opportunity to join the final.

The venues for the knockout stages will be determined based on the progress of the participating teams in the playoffs.

BBL 2023-24 Teams

The annual pursuit of the Big Bash trophy involves eight teams as usual. Representing Sydney are the Thunder and Sixers, while Melbourne has the Stars and Renegades in its ranks. The lineup also counts the Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, and the defending champions Perth Scorchers, who are trying for their sixth title. Notably, the Hurricanes and Melbourne Stars are the only teams still aiming for their first win in the competition’s history.

Also Read: Man Of The Series And Full List Of Award-Winners In IND vs AUS T20I Series

Big Bash League 2023-24 Prize Pool

The Big Bash League (BBL) stands as Australia’s premier domestic T20 competition, featuring significant prize money for successful franchises. The triumphant team receives a winner’s cheque of AUD 450,000.

Beyond the monetary reward, BBL champions earn a prestigious spot in the Champions League T20 tournament, representing Australia in a competition with multimillion-dollar stakes. Additionally, outstanding individual performances are acknowledged with a $50,000 MVP bonus, presented to the season’s top performer.

Big Bash League 2023-24 Full Schedule

Thursday, December 7:

– Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne Stars at Gabba, 1:45 PM (IST)

Friday, December 8:

– Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Renegades at SCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Saturday, December 9:

– Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane Heat at Adelaide Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Sunday, December 10:

– Melbourne Renegades vs Perth Scorchers at GMHBA Stadium, 1:45 PM (IST)

Monday, December 11:

– Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Sixers at University of Tasmania Stadium, 1:45 PM (IST)

Tuesday, December 12:

– Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat at Manuka Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Wednesday, December 13:

– Melbourne Stars vs Perth Scorchers at MCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Also Read: WPL Auction 2024: 165 Players Set For Auction On December 9 In Mumbai

Tuesday, December 19:

– Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder at Adelaide Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Wednesday, December 20:

– Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes at Optus Stadium, 1:45 PM (IST)

Thursday, December 21:

– Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat at Marvel Stadium, 1:45 PM (IST)

Friday, December 22:

– Sydney Sixers vs Adelaide Strikers at SCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Saturday, December 23:

– Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder at Lavington Sports Ground, 10:00 AM (IST)

– Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades at Blundstone Arena, 1:45 PM (IST)

Tuesday, December 26:

– Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars at SCG, 12:45 PM (IST)

– Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Renegades at Optus Stadium, 3:45 PM (IST)

Also Read: IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Playing 11

Wednesday, December 27:

– Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder at Gabba, 1:45 PM (IST)

Thursday, December 28:

– Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Stars at Blundstone Arena, 1:45 PM (IST)

Friday, December 29:

– Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide Strikers at Marvel Stadium, 1:45 PM (IST)

Saturday, December 30:

– Sydney Thunder vs Sydney Sixers at Sydney Showground, 1:45 PM (IST)

Sunday, December 31:

– Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne Stars at Adelaide Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Monday, January 1:

– Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder at Blundstone Arena, 10:30 AM (IST)

– Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Sixers at Gabba, 1:45 PM (IST)

Tuesday, January 2:

– Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne Renegades at MCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Wednesday, January 3:

– Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat at C.ex Coffs International Stadium, 10:30 AM (IST)

– Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers at Optus Stadium, 3:45 PM (IST)

Thursday, January 4:

– Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart Hurricanes at Marvel Stadium, 1:45 PM (IST)

Also Read: South Africa Announce Squads For ODI, T20I And Test Series Against India: Aiden Markram To Captain In White Ball Leg, Bavuma To Lead Test Team

Friday, January 5:

– Adelaide Strikers vs Perth Scorchers at Adelaide Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Saturday, January 6:

– Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers at MCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Sunday, January 7:

– Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes at Gabba, 1:45 PM (IST)

Monday, January 8:

– Sydney Thunder vs Perth Scorchers at Sydney Showground, 1:45 PM (IST)

Tuesday, January 9:

– Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes at Adelaide Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Wednesday, January 10:

– Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers at Gabba, 2:10 PM (IST)

Thursday, January 11:

– Hobart Hurricanes vs Adelaide Strikers at Blundstone Arena, 1:45 PM (IST)

Friday, January 12:

– Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder at SCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Saturday, January 13:

– Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat at Optus Stadium, 10:45 AM (IST)

– Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne Stars at Marvel Stadium, 2:00 PM (IST)

Sunday, January 14:

– Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide Strikers at Manuka Oval, 1:45 PM (IST)

Monday, January 15:

– Melbourne Stars vs Hobart Hurricanes at MCG, 1:45 PM (IST)

Tuesday, January 16:

– Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers at Optus Stadium, 2:10 PM (IST)

Also Read: IPL 2024 Auction: All 10 Teams Remaining Purse, Retained & Released Players List PDF Download

Wednesday, January 17:

– Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Renegades at Sydney Showground, 1:45 PM (IST)

Friday, January 19:

– Qualifier, TBC, 1:45 PM (IST)

Saturday, January 20:

– Knockout, TBC, 1:45 PM (IST)

Monday, January 22:

– Challenger, TBC, 1:45 PM (IST)

Wednesday, January 24:

– Final, TBC, 1:45 PM (IST)

Where To Watch Big Bash League 2023-24 In India?

The Star Sports Network will broadcast the matches for fans in India, while every delivery can be streamed on the Disney+Hotstar app and website.