Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka Team Players List, Squad, And Their ODI Stats

Updated: 09 September 2023

Asia Cup 2023
Image Source: Cricket Australia

Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka Team Players List, Squad, And Their ODI Stats. Asia Cup is going to kick off on August 30 with the match between Pakistan and Nepal at Multan. Host country and defending champion Sri Lanka announced their 15-member squad on August 29.

In a significant blow to Sri Lanka’s bowling arsenal, injuries have sidelined Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, and Lahiru Kumara from the final squad for Asia Cup 2023. Madushanka’s oblique muscle tear, Chameera’s pectoral injury, and Kumara’s recurring side strain have disrupted their participation, with doubts also lingering over their readiness for the ODI World Cup 2023

Leg-spinning all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga is one of the four key Lankan players who will miss the Asia Cup due to injury. He is recovering from a strain in his thigh that he suffered during the Lanka Premier League 2023, where he was awarded man of the tournament.

Medium pacers Binura Fernando and Pramod Madushan were late inclusions in the Sri Lanka squad to replace the important injured players. Wicket-keeper Kusal Perera, returning after two years to the ODI squad, is still recovering from flu according to a statement from the Sri Lanka Cricket Board, and will join the rest of the squad once he recovers.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Updated Points Table, Leading Run-Scorers, and Top Wicket-Takers After the First Super 4s Match Between Pakistan and Bangladesh on September 6

Sri Lanka will start its Asia Cup 2023 campaign against Bangladesh on August 31 at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy. Lankan team will play its second group-stage match against Afghanistan on Sep 5 at Lahore’s Gaddaffi Stadium.

Sri Lanka 15-member Squad For Asia Cup 2023

Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis (vc), Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanaka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Mahesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha,

Sri Lanka Team Players & Their ODI Stats

1.Dasun ShanakaAll-Rounder,  Captain63Runs- 1169, Wickets- 242/393.15
2.Pathum NissanakaBatsman36Runs- 13193/984.88
3.Dimuth KarunaratneBatsman46Runs- 12811/1180.16
4.Kusal PereraWicketkeeper Batsman107Runs- 30716/1592.31
5.Kusal MendisWicketkeeper Batsman108Runs- 30422/2384.57
5.Charith AsalankaBatsman37Runs- 11911/990.3
6.Dhananjaya de SilvaAll-Rounder78Runs- 16690/1079.55
7.Sadeera SamarawickramaBatsman19Runs- 4570/487.05
8.Maheesh TheekshanaBowler24Wickets- 395W-031.08
9.Dunith WellalageBowler11Wickets-125W-031.00
10.Matheesha PathiranaBowler6Wickets-95W-028.33
11.Kasun RajithaBowler26Wickets-355W-033.34
12.Dushan HemanthaAll-Rounder2Wickets-2 0/057.00
13.Binura FernandoBowler4Wickets-25W-076.9
14.Pramod Madushan  Bowler1Wickets-15W13.00