ICC T20 World Cup 2024
Source- icc-cricket.com

T20 World Cup 2024: ICC Announces New Format For The Tournament. The International cricket council on Tuesday, 22nd November 2022 revealed a completely new tournament structure for the next edition of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, to be organized jointly by West Indies and the USA in 2024. ICC, known for making new tweaks in the playing conditions, has now gone ahead and changed the tournament structure. We have discussed the new format in this article.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Overview

In the recently concluded ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, England defeated Pakistan by 5 wickets to clinch their second title victory. This edition will be known for having the most unpredictable results as we saw West Indies getting eliminated in the qualifying round, South Africa again retaining their chockers tag, and getting eliminated before the semi-finals.

Also Read: IPL 2023: 3 All-Rounders Who Can Fetch More Than 10 Crore In Mini Auction

India, who topped the super 12 round with the most points, got a humiliating exit in the semi-finals by England. Overall, it was a fascinating tournament, which fans enjoyed a lot.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Venue

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is expected to be held in June. Around 55 games will take place. West Indies and the USA will jointly host the tournament. Around 1/3rd of the matches will be played in the United States, while the remaining matches will be organized in West Indies.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format For The Main Round

According to the press release by ICC, a total of 20 teams will participate in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. They will be split into 4 groups of 5 teams each. The top 2 teams from these 4 groups will advance to the super 8 round. Then, the top 4 teams from this super 8 round will play the semi-finals, followed by the final match. Among the 20 teams, 12 have already secured their place in the main event. These teams are

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • England
  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies (host nation)
  • USA (host nation)
  • Netherlands

Also Read: IPL 2023 Auction: 4 Players Who Can Replace Kane Williamson As Captain Of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) In IPL 2023

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Qualifying Round

The remaining eight spots will be decided by the regional qualifier round which will kickstart early next year. Two teams each from Africa, Asia, and Europe, and one team each from the Americas and East Asia and Pacific (EAP) region will be chosen among the 8 teams.

Overall, 66 teams will be fighting for eight places, with 14 teams from Africa, 8 from the Americas, 9 from Asia, 7 from EAP, and 28 from Europe. Also, teams such as Hungary, Romania, and Serbia are all set to make their debut during pathway events.