Glorious History of Liverpool FC

Liverpool Football Club: History, Owner, Titles, And Players List. Liverpool FC is one of the most popular football teams also known as the Reds. It is one of the oldest football clubs and one of history’s strongest football teams. The team holds several records and trophies, making them one of the best football teams.

The team has a huge fan base and knows for its exceptional gameplay in the field. The club was established due to a disagreement between the Everton committee and John Houlding who owned the Anfield Football Stadium in Liverpool. In March 1982, the club was officially recognized and became Liverpool FC.

On 1 September 1892, the team played its 1st match against Rotherham Town where they won against the team by 7-0. In 1914, the football club participated in its first FA Cup Final but was defeated by Burnley

Besides, in 1922 and 1923, with new additions to the team, the club made a comeback and won the League Championship in a row. In 1950, the club reached the FA Cup Finals for the second and again was defeated by Arsenal. The football club has had several setbacks but that didn’t lead them to give up to become one of the strongest football teams in the world.

However, in 1965, the club won its first FA Cup, and the subsequent year in 1996, the team took the European Cup trophy back home. Since the inception of the club, the team became stronger in addition to new talented youngsters and with the experience of existing players, the team won both League Cup and UFEA Cup during the year 1972–73.

Liverpool has a collection of trophies that have been won over the past few decades. During this period, the fan base of Liverpool FC also grew exponentially which made the team pave its way to the top. 

Also Read: Legends Of The Game: The Top 5 Greatest Footballers Of All Time

Basic Information  

OwnerFenway Sports Group
Home StadiumAnfield Football Stadium 
ManagerJürgen Klopp
Year of establishment3 June 1892


Premier League191900-01, 1905-06, 1921-22, 1922-23, 1946-47, 1963-64, 1965-66, 1972-73, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86, 1987-88, 1989-90, 2019-20
European Cups61976-77, 1977-78, 1980-81, 1983-84, 2004-05, 2018-19
FIFA Club World Cup12019
Women’s Super League Titles22013, 2014
FA Cups81964-65, 1973-74, 1985-86, 1988-89, 1991-92, 2000-01, 2005-06, 2021-22
League Cups91980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1994-95, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2011-12, 2021-22
UEFA Cups31972-73, 1975-76, 2000-01
UEFA Super Cups41977, 2001, 2005, 2019
Charity/Community Shields161964*, 1965*, 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977*, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986*, 1988, 1989, 1990*, 2001, 2006, 2022 (*shared)
FA Youth Cups41996, 2006, 2007, 2019
Division Two41893-94, 1895-96, 1904-05, 1961-62
FA Women’s Championship12021-22
Reserve Division One181956-57, 1968-69, 1969-70, 1970-71, 1972-73, 1973-74, 1974-75, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1983-84, 1984-85, 1989-90, 1999-2000, 2007-08

Also Read: The Best Of The Best: Top 10 Footballers In The World 2023

Current Players

Player RolesPlayer Names
GoalkeepersAlisson Becker. Caoimhin Kelleher, Adrian
DefendersJoe Gomez, Virgil van Dijk, Ibrahima Konate, Kostas Tsimikas, Calvin Ramsay, Andy Robertson, Joel Matip, Rhys Williams, Nathaniel Phillips. Trent Alexander-Arnold
MidfieldersFabinho, Thiago Alcantara, James Milner, Naby Keita, Jordan Henderson, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Curtis Jones, Harvey Elliott, Arthur Melo, Stefan Bajcetic
ForwardsRoberto Firmino, Mohamed Salah, Cody Gakpo, Diogo Jota, Luis Diaz, Darwin Nunez, Fabio Carvalho
On LoanSeep van den Berg, Marcelo Pilaluga

Women’s Team 

The Liverpool FC Women or the Reds’ Ladies is the women’s team that was founded in 1989 as Newton Ladies F.C. Liverpool is the first team to offer professional contracts to become full-time football players. This decision was made to prioritize women’s participation in different sports like football.

The women’s team won the first FA WSL in 2013 and further retained the title in 2014. The Liverpool FC Women also has a huge fan base and is one of the strongest women’s football teams globally. The team has also won several cups and trophies making it a great addition to Liverpool FC. 

Player RolesPlayer Names
GoalkeepersRachael Laws, Rylee Foster, Faye Kirby
DefendersEmma Koivisto, Leighanne Robe, Niamh Fahey, Jasmine Matthews, Taylor Hinds, Gemma Bonner, Megan Campbell, Hannah Silcock
MidfieldersRhiannon Roberts, Missy Bo Kearns, Fuka Nagano, Sofie Lundgaard, Carla Humphrey, Ceri Holland, Miri Taylor
ForwardsLeanne Kiernan, Melissa Lawley, Shanice van de Sanden, Yana Daniels, Katie Stengel, Natasha Dowie
On LoanAshley Hodson, Eartha Cumings, Charlotte Clarke, Lucy Parry