FIFA World Cup 2026

Updated: 25 July 2023

FIFA World Cup 2026: Host Countries, Cities, Dates, And Venues. The FIFA World Cup is a highly anticipated and widely watched sporting event. The next edition of the biggest football event in the world, the FIFA World Cup 2026, will be held in North America and hosted jointly by Canada, Mexico, and the United States. This is the first time that three countries will host the World Cup.

FIFA World Cup 2026 will have 48 teams, which is more than the current format of 32 teams. This means more countries can participate and fans can see their favorite teams play. Lionel Messi-led Argentina is the defending champions of FIFA World Cup, who defeated France on penalties in Lusail stadium in Qatar in 2022.

FIFA World Cup 2026 Host Countries, Cities Details

The 2026 FIFA World Cup venues will be spread across 16 cities in three host countries, offering fans a variety of locations to enjoy the matches.

Also Read: Can India Qualify For FIFA World Cup 2026? – Explained


  • Seattle – Lumen Field
  • Atlanta – Mercedes-Benz Stadium
  • Dallas – AT&T Stadium
  • Boston – Gillette Stadium
  • Houston – NRG Stadium
  • Los Angeles – SoFi Stadium
  • Kansas City – Arrowhead Stadium
  • Miami – Hard Rock Stadium
  • Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field
  • New York/New Jersey – MetLife Stadium
  • San Francisco – Levi’s Stadium


  • Vancouver – BC Place
  • Toronto – BMO Field


  • Mexico City – Estadio Azteca
  • Guadalajara – Estadio Akron
  • Monterrey – Estadio BBVA

The US will host most of the tournament’s matches, including all knockout stage matches from the quarterfinals onward and the final.

Also Read: Top 5 Richest Footballers In The World And Their Net Worth In 2023

FIFA World Cup 2026 Dates

The FIFA World Cup 2026 is scheduled to take place from June 8 to July 3, 2026. Fans of the sport are eagerly waiting for this event as it promises to be a thrilling tournament featuring some of the best teams from around the globe.

In addition to the new locations and teams, the 2026 World Cup will be a global event, drawing fans from around the world. The tournament is expected to generate economic benefits for host countries and local communities.

FIFA World Cup 2026 Participating teams

For the 2026 World Cup, 48 teams will participate – an increase of 16 from previous tournaments since 1998. The continental confederations have already determined their allotted spots.

  • CAF (Africa): Nine direct spots + one inter-confederation play-off place
  • AFC (Asia): Eight direct spots + one inter-confederation play-off place
  • Concacaf (North and Central America, plus the Caribbean): Six direct spots + two inter-confederation play-off places
  • OFC (Oceania): One direct spot + one inter-confederation play-off place
  • CONMEBOL (South America): Six direct spots + one inter-confederation play-off place
  • UEFA (Europe): 16 direct spots

Also Read: FIFA Puskas Award

The much-awaited continental qualifiers of the Fifa World Cup 2026 are set to begin in the first half of 2023. This is exciting news for sports enthusiasts across the globe who have been eagerly waiting for this event.

Overall, the 2026 FIFA World Cup will be an exciting and unforgettable event. Fans, teams, and nations from around the world will come together to celebrate the beautiful game of football. Keep on surfing sportsganga for more information about your favourite football team and player.