IND vs ENG 5th Test: India Squad
Image Source: Twitter @BCCI

IND vs ENG 5th Test: KL Rahul Ruled Out As BCCI Announced India Squad For Final Test vs England. Jasprit Bumrah returned to the Indian cricket squad as the BCCI announced a revised team for the fifth and final Test against England in Dharamsala. Bumrah’s absence during the fourth Test in Ranchi was a result of him being rested to manage his workload. There’s an expectation that he will promptly join the starting lineup, potentially taking the place of Akash Deep, who had a decent debut in the last match.

The BCCI announced that Jasprit Bumrah, who was not part of the squad for the 4th Test in Ranchi, will rejoin the team for the 5th Test in Dharamsala. Specialists in London are currently observing KL Rahul for treatment on his right quad, which has ruled him out of the final Test and sidelined him from the last three Tests against England.

Rajat Patidar has been batting at number four in the last three Tests while KL Rahul was absent. However, his performances in those six innings haven’t been impressive, with a highest score of 32 and two ducks. This lacklustre showing is likely to pave the way for Devdutt Padikkal to join the team. Padikkal, a tall left-handed batsman, is poised to become the fifth Indian player to debut in the ongoing series, following Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel, and Akash Deep.

Also Read: BCCI Central Contracts: Rohit, Virat, Bumrah And Jadeja In Grade A+, Shreyas & Ishan Excluded For 2023-24 Season

The squad has allowed Washington Sundar, an off-spin bowling all-rounder, to depart and participate in the Ranji Trophy semi-final. His chances of selection were slim due to the presence of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, and Kuldeep Yadav in the squad. India has secured an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match series. However, winning the final Test will further bolster their position in the World Test Championship points table.

India Squad For 5th Test vs England 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Jasprit Bumrah (Vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Devdutt Padikkal, Akash Deep, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK).