IND vs ENG 4th Test Day 3 Highlights
Image Source: BCCI

IND vs ENG 4th Test Day 3 Highlights: Ashwin, Kuldeep Steals The Show, India Needs 152 Runs To Win. India’s spin duo Ashwin and Kuldeep, continued to torment the England batting lineup during the second innings. Early strikes by Ashwin contained DRS controversy, which involved Joe Root’s pivotal wicket that unsettled the top order of England. Nevertheless, Kuldeep had another say in this match, with Zak Crawley’s resistance helping to swing things back in India’s favor as England stumbled to 133 for 8.

In the second innings, India displayed a great deal of fighting spirit coupled with exceptional bowling skills, which saw England bowled out for 145 runs. It is, however, not going to be easy chasing a total of 192 runs, especially on this challenging track where England’s spinners are getting more bounce.

Obviously, batting against the new ball was hard due to its ever-looming threats. Kuldeep Yadav’s amazing bowling brought an end to England’s dream of setting a huge target because he took four wickets quickly, one after another. Having left Foakes facing the Indian bowlers along with tail-enders, Ashwin efficiently wrapped up the innings, taking five wickets.

Also Read: Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 Points Table & Standings

Though England had initially taken control, day three witnessed a resilient Dhruv Jurel and the Indian spin attack, who engineered one of the most dramatic comebacks in recent times, turning the tide in favour of India. Through his brilliant 90-run knock and inspired bowling efforts by R Ashwin as well as Kuldeep Yadav, Jurel broke England’s hold and placed his side in a commanding position.

With an impressive display reminding many of Dhoni, Jurel received accolades from experts and fans too, while Kuldeep supported him well, thus helping India escape.

England had a good start on day two, but it was Jurel and Kuldeep who India hoped would turn things around. It was Jurel’s wisdom in shot selection that irritated the English bowlers, while Kuldeep’s resilience boosted the Indian innings. This duo reminded fans of Dhoni’s great partnerships, bringing back some memories for cricket lovers. The fortunes of India started to change when Jurel sped towards his half-century and beyond, thus reducing England’s advantage to only 46 runs.

Ranchi Test Drama: Jurel and Spinners Steal the Show

A defensive approach from Ben Foakes failed to thwart India’s spin attack as Ashwin claimed his fourth wicket, eventually completing a five-wicket haul. For victory, they were required to reach a target of 192 runs after England was all out for 145. Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal gave their team what seemed like a promising start against the English bowlers by combining aggression and finesse.

Also Read: Who Will Win IPL 2024? Predicted Semi-Finalists And Potential Winner Of 17th Season

India already had control over the game early on through Rohit’s big hit off Hartley, while Jaiswal’s gracefulness accompanied his partner’s aggressiveness. At the close of play, India reached 40 runs for no loss, with unbeaten Rohit on 24 and Jaiswal on 16. Their partnership set up an interesting finish for the Ranchi Test as India pursued victory coming into the final day.

IND vs ENG 4th Test Playing XI

India playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Jurel, R. Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Akash Deep, and Mohammed Siraj.

England playing XI: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Ben Foakes, Tom Hartley, Ollie Robinson, Shoaib Bashir, and James Anderson.

IND vs ENG 4th Test: Full Squads

IND: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Devdutt Padikkal, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep.

ENG: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Tom Hartley, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson, Shoaib Bashir, Mark Wood, Rehan Ahmed, Daniel Lawrence, and Gus Atkinson.