Asia Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC-Cricket

Updated: 28 August 2023

Asia Cup 2023: Team Bangladesh Squad and Schedule. The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) organizes the Asia Cup, which features teams from Asian cricketing nations. The event has traditionally been played in the One Day International (ODI) format, although it has also been contested as a Twenty20 International (T20I) format.

This year Asia Cup (16th edition) will be played in an ODI format due to the upcoming World Cup in India. The event will commence on 30th August and will run until September 17th. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the official hosts of the tournament. Out of 13 matches, 9 will be played in Sri Lanka and the rest 4 will be held in Pakistan. It should be noted that no match of India will take place in Pakistan.

Six Asian countries, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Afghanistan will play the 2023 Asia Cup. These six groups will be divided into two. Three teams will be assigned to each category. The top two teams in each group proceed to the Super 4, where they will face off once. The top two teams will then square off in the championship game.

In the history of the Asia Cup, Bangladesh Team has never won a single title. However, they did play finals of the Asia Cup thrice (in 2012, 2016 T20I, and 2018). The dream of lifting the Asia Cup trophy is still a dream for the Tigers. They will give their best to live that maiden title for their country. Bangladesh first appeared in the Asia Cup of 1986. Additionally, Bangladesh hosted Asia Cup five times (in 1988, 2000, 2012, 2014, and 2016).

Read More: Asia Cup 2023: How To Watch It For Free, Format, Schedule, Television And Live Streaming Details

Bangladesh Squad for Asia Cup 2023

Bangladesh cricket board on Saturday announces 17-men squad led by Shakib Al Hasan for Asia Cup 2023. Bangladesh cricket team will start its Asia Cup 2023 campaign against host Sri Lanka at Kandy on 31 August. They will face Afghanistan in their last group match at Lahore on September 3.

17-Men Squad of Team Bangladesh

Batsmen­ – Mohammad Naim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das (wk), Towhid Hridoy, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Mushfiqur Rahim

All-Rounder – Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain Dhrubo (spin), Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan

Pacers – Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed,

Standby players- Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Taijul Islam, Saif Hasan

Probable Playing XI of Bangladesh For Asia Cup 2023

Mohammad Naim, Litton Das (wk), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy , Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain

Read More: Pakistan Announces 18-Member Squad For The Highly Anticipated Asia Cup 2023

Bangladesh Schedule for Asia Cup 2023

According to media sources, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) confirmed the official Asia Cup 2023 scheduled release on July 16th during the International Cricket Council (ICC) Annual Meeting in Durban, South Africa. The schedule will be updated promptly as it becomes available.