Home WPL 2023 Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians( MI) vs Delhi Capitals(DC):...

Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 Final: Mumbai Indians( MI) vs Delhi Capitals(DC): The Countdown Begins

WPL 2023 Final
Image Source- twitter.com/JioCinema

Women’s Premier League (WPL) Final: The Countdown Begins. Finally, the D-day has come. WPL 2023 will be coming to an end tonight after 21 days of the clashes for the top two positions among 5 teams. The grand finale of the tournament will take place in Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium on March 26 in which the two best teams of the tournament – Harmanpreet Kaur-led Mumbai Indians (MI) and Meg Lanning-led Delhi Capitals (DC) will lock horns to win the historical inaugural trophy of the prestigious WPL 2023.

WPL 2023 Journey Of MI & DC

DC got its spot in the final directly from the preliminary league stage by earning 12 points in 8 matches with 6 wins. However, MI had to play one extra match, the Eliminator, against UP Warriorz. MI won this match convincingly to qualify for the WPL 2023 final. MI also earned the points equalling DC, but due to lesser NRR, they had to clear the Eliminator.

Also Read: WPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap List, And Updated Points Table

Harmanpreet Kaur & Meg Lanning The Two Captains

MI is being led by the Indian national captain and the pride of Indian Women’s cricket Harmanpreet Kaur, DC is being captained by Australia’s Meg Lanning who led the Kangaroos in the recently concluded ICC T20 WC to victory. Meg has the distinction of getting the maximum runs this season so far (310 from 8 matches). Her vast experience of playing in the shortest version of the game will certainly give tough competition to Herman and her girls.

Players Of DC & MI To Watch Out For

As per pitch reports, the surface will suit more to the batters of the two teams with the pitch having little or no movements. In such a situation, MI will back on their tested match-winners like Hayley Mathews, Nat Sciver -Brunt, Amelia Kerr Harmanpreet Kaur’s batting skills apart from the supports of Pooja Vastrakar and its wicket-keeper Yastika Bhatia.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Tournament To Stay In Pakistan But India Will Play At Neutral Venue

Issy Wong of MI who took the first-ever hat trick of WPL this season could be the destroyer-in-chief of MI. On the other hand, DC will rely on its leader Meg Lanning and her deputy Jemimah Rodriguez.

As far as the league stage is concerned, these two finalists have clashed twice, winning one match each. In WPL 2023 finals high thriller the team which drops lesser catches and makes the right choice in its bowling options, is likely to come out as the historic winner of the WPL 2023. Let’s keep our fingers crossed till the end of the match.