LLC Masters 2023
Image Source: llct20

LLC Masters 2023: Asia Lions Became Champions By Defeating World Giants By 7 Wickets. On March 20, World Giants (WG) faced Shahid Afridi-led Asia Lions (AL) in the final of the Legends League Cricket (LLC) Masters 2023. World Giants skipper Shane Watson won the toss and opted to bat first. Openers Morne van Wyk and Lendl Simmons couldn’t give a solid start to their team. Pacer Abdur Razzak bagged two wickets in an over. Simmons got run out in the sixth over of the innings. He made 17 runs off 16 balls.

Proteas Stalwart Jacques Kallis Smashed A Half-Century

Jacques Kallis and Ross Taylor rescued their team from collapse and added 92 runs for the fourth wicket. Kallis brought up his fifty in just 41 balls. The Proteas legend remained unbeaten on 78 off 54 balls. His sensational knock was studded with five fours and three sixes. Taylor made 32 runs off 33 balls. World Giants managed to get 147 runs in 20 overs while losing four wickets.  

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule: IPL Teams, Groups, Full Schedule, Venues, Time In IST, Results, Points Table, Man Of The Match List, And All You Need To Know

Upul Tharanga And Tillakaratne Dilshan Added 115 Runs To Help Asia Lions Win The LLC Masters Title

While chasing the target, Asia Lions openers Upul Tharanga and Tillakaratne Dilshan gave a flying start to their team. He amassed whopping 72 runs in just the first six overs of the innings. Tharanga completed his fifty in just 24 balls. Right-arm pacer Brett Lee bowled Tharanga in the tenth over of the game.

Tharanga scored 57 runs off just 28 balls with the help of five fours and three sixes. Samit Patel dismissed second opener Dilshan. The Sri Lankan stalwart scored 58 runs off 42 balls. He pummelled eight elegant boundaries in his sparkling knock. Mohammed Hafeez struck winning runs for Asia Lions. Asia Lions clinched the LLC Masters trophy by beating World Giants by seven wickets.

Player Of The Match Of The LLC Masters Final

Abdur Razzak was awarded Player of the Match for his match-winning spell, in which he bagged two wickets while conceding only 14 runs in his quota of four overs.

Also Read: ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier Playoff Schedule Announced

Player Of The Series Of The LLC Masters 2023

Sri Lankan stalwart Upul Tharanga won the Player of the Series award for his 221 runs in the tournament. Sri Lankan stalwart Upul Tharanga won the Player of the Series award for top-scoring in the tournament. He amassed 221 runs in six games with an average of 36.83 and a strike rate of 137.27.

The left-hander struck three half-centuries in the tournament. Gautam Gambhir is the only other batsman, who smashed three half-centuries in this edition of the LLC Masters.

Playing XIs Of Asia Lions And World Giants

Asia Lions Playing XI: Upul Tharanga (wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shahid Afridi (c), Misbah-ul-Haq, Sohail Tanvir, Paras Khadka, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Hafeez, Asghar Afghan, Thisara Perera, Abdur Razzak

World Giants Playing XI: Morne van Wyk (wk), Shane Watson (c), Ross Taylor, Tino Best, Chris Mpofu, Brett Lee, Jacques Kallis, Lendl Simmons, Paul Collingwood, Samit Patel, Monty Panesar