IPL 2024 Auction Rules
IPL 2024 Auction

IPL 2024 Auction: Rules, Base Price, And Full List Of Registered Players. The BCCI asked franchises to provide any additional player requests not listed on the Auction Register. Eligible and interested requested players will be automatically included in the auction.

The IPL 2024 auction, scheduled for December 19 in Dubai, will take place outside India for the first time. A substantial pool of 1166 players has registered, with 25 in the top base price category of Rs 2 crore. However, only 77 slots are available for all ten franchises, including 30 for overseas players. The revelation of the final list of shortlisted players will occur after the franchises submit their choices. The combined spending power of the franchises amounts to a remarkable 262.95 crore.

World Cup standouts including Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Travis Head and Daryl Mitchell are actively seeking placement in the 10-team league. Even Josh Hazlewood, who has some uncertainty regarding his availability, has submitted his name for consideration. Rachin Ravindra, renowned for his impressive batting in the World Cup, is listed at Rs 50 lakh but is expected to command at least 15 to 20 times his base price in the auction. The registration list comprises 830 Indian players, including 18 capped players, and 336 overseas cricketers.

Also Read: World Test Championship Points Table (Pakistan On Top) 2023-25 After BAN vs NZ Match

IPL 2024 Auction Rules

The upcoming auction will follow the rules of the previous edition, excluding the use of the Right to Match card. The RTM card, introduced in the 2018 auction, enables a franchise to reacquire a player post his initial acquisition by another team. After thorough deliberation, we decided to abstain from using it.

Franchises cannot acquire players beyond their purse balance. Each team must allocate a minimum of 75% of their total amount. The team size is capped at 25 players, with a mandatory minimum of 18 players per squad. Each franchise can have a maximum of 25 Indian players and a minimum of 17 Indian players. Similarly, the squad has a maximum limit of 8 international players, but it does not impose a minimum requirement on international players.

IPL Auction 2024: Players Base Price & Category

Players starting with a base price of INR 2 Crore: 

Tom Banton, Angelo Mathews, Sean Abbott, Harry Brook, Gerald Coetzee, Travis Head, Lockie Ferguson, Jamie Overton, Kedar Jadhav, Steve Smith. Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Adil Rashid, Rilee Rossouw, Josh Inglis, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, David Willey, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Rassie van der Dussen, Chris Woakes, Josh Hazlewood, Ben Duckett, Harshal Patel.

Players starting with a base price of INR 1.5 Crore:

Chris Lynn, Corey Anderson, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Moises Henriques, Phil Salt, Tymal Mills, Wanindu Hasaranga, Colin Munro, Daniel Worrall. Dawid Malan, Jason Holder, Jimmy Neesham, Marchant de Lange, Mohammad Nabi, Sherfane Rutherford, Tim Southee, Chris Jordan, Tom Curran, Colin Ingram. 

Also Read: IND vs AUS: India Sealed The 5 Match T20I Series Against Australia 

Players starting with a base price of INR 1 Crore:

Gus Atkinson, Ashton Turner, Wayne Parnell, Michael Bracewell, D’Arcy Short, Adam Milne. Rovman Powell, Sam Billings, David Wiese, Ashton Agar, Kyle Jamieson, Riley Meredith, Dwaine Pretorius, Martin Guptill, Alzarri Joseph, Daryl Mitchell

Players starting with a base price of INR 50 Lakh:

Varun Aaron, Karun Nair, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Chetan Sakariya, Mandeep Singh, Shivam Mavi. KS Bharat, Sandeep Warrier, Dhawal Kulkarni, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Barinder Sran, Jaydev Unadkat, Shahrukh Khan, Rachin Ravindra.

IPL 2024 Schedule Likely To Reveal After LS Poll Dates

The IPL schedule is pending confirmation from the BCCI, awaiting the Election Commission of India’s announcement of election dates. However, The BCCI has advised franchises to expect the IPL between the third week of March and the third week of May, contingent on election days. Although the preference is for matches in India, logistical adjustments may occur if elections impact operations. Notably, the BCCI successfully conducted the entire league in India during the 2019 general elections.