ICC World Cup Qualifier 2023: Get All Details Here

Updated: 04 July 2023

World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC

ICC World Cup Qualifier 2023: Get All Details Here. Get ready for some cricket action because ten teams are going head-to-head in Zimbabwe, all aiming to snatch the final two spots at the 2023 ODI World Cup in India. It is the culmination of a four-year process with a total of 140 games that kicked off with a whopping 32 teams competing for a coveted place in the World Cup 2023. Two-time world cup champion West Indies out of the qualifier race as they were beaten by Scotland by 7 wickets.

The ICC ODI Super League

This league, introduced by the ICC in 2020, plays a crucial role in determining which teams get an automatic ticket to the World Cup. The top eight teams from the Super League have already secured their positions, and they are a formidable bunch – India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, and South Africa. But the bottom five Super League teams and five Associate nations are not giving up yet!

They are all set to participate in the Qualifier, fighting tooth and nail for a chance to qualify. Five Associate Teams in the Spotlight! Nepal, Oman, Scotland, UAE, and the USA have made their mark in this edition of the tournament. Their stellar performances in the World Cup League 2 and the Qualifier play-offs earned them well-deserved spots in the tournament.

Also Read: ICC ODI World Cup Winners List, Host And Man Of The Tournament

CWC Qualifier 2023 Format

The ten teams are divided into two fierce groups of five. Group A comprises Nepal, the USA, West Indies, the Netherlands, and Zimbabwe. On the other hand, Group B showcases Ireland, Oman, Scotland, Sri Lanka, and UAE. Brace yourself for some intense cricket battles as each team faces off in four group matches, following a round-robin format.

The top three teams from each group will then advance to the thrilling Super Six stage. There, they carry over their hard-earned points from the group stage, and the top two teams from the Super Six will emerge victorious, grabbing their tickets to the World Cup.

CWC Qualifier 2023 Dates & Venue

This thrilling tournament takes place across the beautiful nation of Zimbabwe at four vibrant venues, two in Harare and two in Bulawayo. The cricket extravaganza tournament kicked off on June 18, and all cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the grand finale, which will take place on July 9 at the iconic Harare Sports Club. Get ready to witness some exciting games!

Schedule for the upcoming CWC Fixtures 2023

DateMatchTime in IST
02-2023-07Zimbabwe vs. Sri Lanka12:30
02-2023-07Nepal vs. United Arab Emirates12:30
03-2023-07Netherlands vs. Oman12:30
04-2023-07Zimbabwe vs. Scotland12:30
04-2023-07Ireland vs. TBA (7th Place Playoff)12:30
05-2023-07Oman vs West Indies12:30
06-2023-07TBA vs. TBA (9th Place Playoff)12:30
06-2023-07Netherlands vs. Scotland12:30
07-2023-07Sri Lanka vs. West Indies12:30
09-2023-07TBA vs. TBA (Final)12:30