ICC Annual Conference 2022
Image Source - Twitter.com/ICC

ICC Annual Conference 2022: India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka Set To Host ICC World Cup. The ICC annual conference 2022, held in Birmingham, has approved the venues for important ICC women’s events to be staged from 2004-2027. The International Cricket Council has announced that 4 major women’s ICC events will be held in the next 4 years.

ICC Women’s Tournament Revealed

The first on this list will be the ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be staged in Bangladesh. It will be the first time that Bangladesh cricket fans will witness an ICC women’s event of such magnitude. This t20 world cup will be held during September- October 2024.

Also Read: Asia Cup Cricket: Records, And Stats Of The Indian Cricket Team

The action will then shift to India when they will be the hosts for the ICC Women’s ODI world cup 2025. It will be the 5th time India will be hosting the ICC women’s tournament, where 4 have already been ICC world cup events. The tentative schedule for the 2025 world cup is yet to be released, but it will have a total of 31 matches.

England To Host Women’s T20 World Cup 2026

The next event will take place in England in June, where they will host the ICC Women’s T20 world cup 2026. Ironically, it will be the first time England will host any women’s T20 World Cup.

On being awarded the tournament for the first time, Claire Connor, interim ECB CEO, said: “We’re absolutely delighted that we’ve been selected to host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2026. We saw back in 2017 how hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup captured people’s imagination, and I’ll never forget watching Heather Knight lift the trophy on that magical day at a sold-out Lord’s.” 

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Australia and England Team Schedule, Venue, And Timings

Sri Lanka To Host ICC Women’s Champions Trophy

The fourth and final Women’s ICC event will be the ICC Women’s champions trophy that will take place in Sri Lanka (subject to them qualifying for the tournament). This will be in the T20 format, which will take place in February 2026, wherein six teams will compete for 16 matches.

All these decisions were taken based on the competitive bidding process. Apart from these, the FTP (Future tour program) for both the men and women were also approved by the ICC, whose details will be released in a few days.

New Associate Members Of ICC

Another important decision that was taken in the meeting was the addition of 3 new teams to the list of associate membership status. The total associate nations count has increased to 108 countries, including 96 associates out of which 25 associate nations are from Asia. These nations are Cambodia, Uzbekistan, and Cote D’lvoire.

Adding to these decisions, it was announced that the coveted Lords Cricket stadium, in England will host the finals of the ICC test championship in 2023 and 2025