South Africa T20 League

Updated: 20 July 2022

South Africa T20 League 2023. The popularity of IPL seems to be spreading to all corners of the globe. In the recent development, 6 IPL franchises have snapped all 6 teams of the upcoming South African cricket league to commence in January 2023.

The South African cricket board will run this league in collaboration with the national television broadcaster SuperSport. According to unofficial reports, Chennai Super Kings has spent the highest bidding amount, close to 250 crores, to acquire Johannesburg.

Also Read: 6 IPL (Indian Premier League) Records That Might Never Be Broken


South African cricket board, since 2017, has tried 3 times to start a substantial cricket league, somewhat similar to the IPL. Initially, the Global league T20 failed to kick off, after which they tried to start a new T20 league with the name Mzansi league in 2017. But, they failed to find a broadcaster for three consecutive years.

Cricket South Africa has finally come up with another cricket league aimed at sustaining the popularity of cricket in South Africa.


The proposed t20 league’s name is yet to be disclosed. A total of 6 teams will be part of this cricket league, which will commence in January 2023. This will be an annual cricket event, with the possible option of increasing the number of teams as the season progresses.

Former South African captain Graeme Smith has been appointed as the commissioner of this franchise-based cricket league. Cricket South Africa recently canceled its bilateral commitment with Australia to make a window for the T20 league.

Also Read: Who Will Win Asia Cup 2022? Predictions


According to reports, 6 IPL franchises have already placed their bids and acquired 6 different teams. A total of 29 expressions of interest were received by the South African board, which also included the Kevin Pieterson-headed consortium, but they could not stand against the IPL owners.

The official announcement of the teams and their owners will be made by the end of this week. Still, according to the reports, below are the names of 6 IPL franchises and the teams which they have acquired:

  • Chennai Super Kings- Johannesburg
  • Mumbai Indians- Cape Town
  • Lucknow Super Giants- Durban
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad- Port Elizabeth
  • Delhi Capitals- Pretoria
  • Rajasthan Royals- Paarl