The IPL Governing Council on Sunday announced the schedule for VIVO IPL 2021 to be held in India.

IPL 2021 Venue

After nearly two years, the IPL extravaganza will return home with Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Chennai, Delhi, & hosting the marquee event.

IPL 2021 Dates

The 14th edition of IPL 2021 will start on 9th April, 2021 in Chennai with a opening match between defending champions Mumbai Indians and RCB.

Recently renovated The World’s Largest Cricket Stadium – Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the Playoffs as well as the final on 30th May, 2021 which promises to be a visual spectacle. The new stadium that hosted India’s 2nd Pink Ball fixture at home with great grandeur will host its first ever IPL 2021.


Each team is set to play at 4 venues during the league stage. Out of the 56 league matches,Kolkata,Chennai, Mumbai, & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each.

One of the highlights of this edition of the VIVO IPL will be the fact that all matches will be played at neutral venues, no team will play at their home venue. All teams will play at 4 out of 6 venues during the league stage.

There will be a total of 11 double headers where 6 teams will play three afternoon matches & two teams will play two afternoon matches. The afternoon games are slated for a 3:30 PM IST start while the evening games will have a 7:30 PM IST start.

After hosting the tournament safely and successfully in the UAE last year with all safety protocols in place, the BCCI is confident of hosting the IPL at home with health and safety of players and all people involved being paramount.

IPL 2021 Schedule

You can click here for full schedule of vivo IPL 2021