5 Legendary Cricket Players Who Failed to Secure an IPL Title
Image Source: Twitter - @imVkohli

5 Legendary Cricket Players Who Failed to Secure an IPL Title. Indian Premier League is one of the most prestigious cricket leagues in the cricket world. IPL is very famous amongst cricket fans who see their favorite international and Indian players playing in the same team. 

IPL is also known as one of the toughest cricket leagues. Cricket players who have a lot of international achievements in international cricket fail to perform in IPL well. Here are 5 legendary players with achievements in international cricket who failed to secure any IPL Title in IPL history.

5 Legendary Cricket Players Who Failed to Secure an IPL Title

AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers is one of the best cricketers from South Africa who holds the record of scoring the fastest century in ODI History in just 31 Balls. He started his IPL career with Delhi Capitals in 2008. He joined Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2011. AB became famous in Indian households due to his 360-degree batting style and fielding. He is popularly known as Mr 360-degree.

The South African player became an integral part of RCB as the team never left AB and sticks with him until his retirement in 2021. AB played with Virat Kohli and the two have some memorable moments in the IPL. He has a lot of records in International cricket but he never won the IPL Trophy or any ICC trophies.

AB de Villiers retired from all forms of Cricket in 2021.

Also Read: IPL 2024 Auction: Full List Of 214 Registered Indian Players With Their Base Price

Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly is known as one of the best and most successful captains of Team India. Some even call him the Maharaja of Indian Cricket. Cricket players like Yuvraj Singh, and Dhoni played under him. Sourav has a successful international career, but still he failed to win the IPL.

Sourav Ganguly started his IPL career by playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR chose Sourav Ganguly as their captain in the 2008 IPL. The team performed very poorly and won only three matches. Due to this performance, KKR removed Ganguly as captain in IPL season 2. After KKR’s poor performance in the second season, he was again appointed as the captain of KKR in IPL season 3. The team did not play well in the third season and KKR did not continue the contract with Ganguly. He then took over the captaincy of Pune Warriors India in the fourth season of the IPL.

From Twitter – @virendersehwag

Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag is known as one of the most destructive openers in Indian cricket history. He is famous for hitting sixes in any situation and that has helped the Indian team win difficult matches. When the IPL started, Virender Sehwag was chosen as the captain of Delhi Capitals. Under his leadership, Delhi Capitals reached the semi-finals in the first two seasons of the IPL.

He wanted to concentrate on his batting, so he relinquished the captaincy at Delhi. Sewag had a good career with Delhi Capitals until Sehwag signed a contract with Kings XI Punjab in 2023 and played there for two seasons. He scored 122 runs in the 2014 final against Chennai Super Kings. Unfortunately, Kings XI Punjab lost the final. Virender Sehwag retired from the IPL after 2015.

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle who people call “The Universe Boss” due to his destructive batting in T20. People even call him the greatest T20 player in cricket. Gayle is one of the highest run scorers from the West Indies.

He began his career in the first season of IPL. Chris Gayle played with the Kolkata Knight Riders until 2010. He joined Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011 and has a fantastic career with RCB. Chris Gayle scored 175* against Pune Warriors which is the highest score from an Individual in IPL History. Chris Gayle didn’t win any IPL trophy with a team.

Also Read: 5 Players Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Could Target In IPL 2024 Auction

From Twitter – @imVkohli

Virat Kohli 

Virat Kohli is one of the best cricketers from India after Sachin Tendulkar. He recently beat Sachin Tendulkar by scoring his 50th ODI Century against New Zealand in WC Semi-Final. 

Virat is also the highest run-scorer in the IPL with more than 7000 runs when he played for Royal Challengers Bangalore. He started his IPL career with RCB and has stuck with it till date. Virat always does his best to help the team, but as an individual player, he can’t do anything on his own. RCB and Virat have not won the IPL trophy so far. Virat may have 5 or 4 years left before he retires from cricket. Hopefully, Virat Kohli will win his first IPL trophy in IPL 2024.