Updated: 18 January 2022

FIFA has released the shortlisted name of the three contenders who are going to battle it out for the 2021 FIFA Men’s Player of the year award (FIFA The Best Award)

The 3 Finalists Of FIFA Men’s Player Of The Year

Lionel Messi

Six-time FIFA Men’s award winner Lionel Messi has yet again reached the last three. The 34-year-old won his first senior title with Argentina by winning the Copa America in 2021. Unlike the other two, Messi has had a slow start to the season. The Argentinian international has only scored 6 six so far after arriving in Paris.

Also Read: Who Will Win FIFA World Cup 2022?

Mohamed Salah

The Egyptian King & Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah who is currently with his national team preparing for the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) has been nominated for the FIFA Men’s Player of the year award top 3 for the second time in his career. The Liverpool star has started the season in style by scoring 16 goals and 9 assists so far in the PL. 

Robert Lewandoski

Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandoski, who won the prestigious award in 2020, is having yet another remarkable season in front of a goal. He has netted 30 in just 25 appearances. He is the second player on the Top 3 list and has a great chance of winning the award two times in a row, a record held previously by Cristiano Ronaldo

Lewandoski won FIFA Men’s Player Award 2021

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022: Qualified Teams, Prize Money And Tickets

Big Names Left Out Of FIFA Men’s Player Of The Year’s Shortlisted Name

Surprisingly no players from Italy’s European Championship winning team has made it to the final three on the list. Players like Jorginho and N’Golo Kante who helped Chelsea win their 2nd UEFA Champions League title were not found in the final three of the elusive list. 

Five-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo too did not make it to the final three on the list. For the 2nd time in his career, he has not made it to the final cut since he was first nominated in the 2007 FIFA awards. 

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers From 6 Confederations

The FIFA Men’s Player of the year award is voted by a jury made up of current men’s national team coaches and captains, one specialist journalist from each territory represented by a national team, and football fans registered across the globe on FIFA.com.

The list has been chopped down to the top three from 11. The trio of forwards will have to battle it out for the glorious award. The other nominees who have not made it to the top 3 are Karim Benzema, Kevin De Bruyne, Erling Haaland, Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Kylian Mbappe, Neymar Jr and Cristiano Ronaldo. 

Also Read: Ranking Top 5 Goalkeepers In The World 2021

When Is It Going To Be Held?

The award will be given out on January 17 in a virtual model. The ceremony will be taking place in Zurich. Along with it, the Puskas Award will also be given for the goal of the year. 

Where to watch the live ceremony?

FIFA will stream the live ceremony from its various media channels including Facebook, Youtube, and Twitter.