Karim Benzema
Image Source- Twitter.Com/Benzema

Updated: 20 October 2022

The 66th Ballon d’Or award 2022 was presented by France Football on Monday at Theatre du Chatelet, Paris. The nominees for the Ballon d’Or 2022 were announced on Aug 12. It was the first time since 2005 that seven-time Ballon d’Or winner Argentine striker Lionel Messi was not nominated for the award.

In March 2022 France Football changed the rules for the Ballon d’Or that the prestigious award will be based on a single-season performance rather than a whole calendar year.

Also Read: Who Will Win FIFA World Cup 2022?

There are a total of 7 awards that will be given this year. The Gerd Muller Trophy and club of the year award were given from 2021.

Ballon d’Or 2022 award winners

  1. Gerd Muller trophy (best striker)- Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
  2. Men’s Ballon d’Or (player of the year) – Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  3. Women’s Ballon d’Or (player of the year) – Alexia Puttellas (Barcelona)
  4. Club of the year (most Ballo d’Or nominees) – Manchester City
  5. Kopa Trophy (best under 21 men’s player)- Gavi (Barcelona)
  6. Yashin Trophy (best men’s goalkeeper) – Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  7. Socrates award (recognizing player acts of solidarity) – Sadio Mane ( Bayern Munich)

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2022: All Teams List, Captain, And Coach

Ballon d’Or 2022 Nominees

6Kylian MbappePSG
1Karim Benzema Real Madrid
2Sadio ManeLiverpool
5Mo SalahLiverpool
4Robert LewandowskiBayern Munich
3Kevin De Bruyne Man City
7Thibaut CourtoisReal Madrid
9Luka Modric Real Madrid
8Vinicius JuniorReal Madrid
10Erling Haaland Dortmund
20Cristiano Ronaldo Juventus & ManU
11Son Heung MinTottenham
14Fabinho Liverpool
12Riyad MahrejMan City
13Sebastien Haller Ajax
14Rafael Liao Milan
16Virgil van DijkLiverpool
17Casemiro, Luis Diaz &
Dusan Vlahovic
Real Madrid, Liverpool &
21Harry Kane Tottenham
22Phil Foden, Bernardo Silva &
Trent Arnold
Man City, Man City &
25Mike Maignan, Joshua, Antonio,
Cancelo, Nkunku, Nunez
Milan, Bayern, Chelsea, Man City
Leipzig, Liverpool