Lionel Messi
Image- Twitter

On 18th April Europe’s 12 biggest football clubs jointly announced an agreement competition, the European Super League.

The newly formed league will include 12 of Europe’s biggest teams: Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atlético Madrid, Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan.

Sources said that “3 more clubs are going to join as Founding Clubs before the inaugural season, which is expected to start soon .Games would begin in August and will be played midweek .

A joint statement from the founding clubs said three more teams would be announced shortly.

European political leaders quickly came out against plans for the newly formed European Super League.

The move of these clubs has been met with widespread criticism, including from French president, Emmanuel Macron and the UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson.

Super League said that In future, the Founding Club will look forward to consulting with UEFA and FIFA in order to work together”.

Officials of European Super League

The Chairman of the new club will be : Florentino Perez (Real Madrid)
Vice-chairman: Andrea Agnelli (Juventus)
Vice-chairman: Joel Glazer (Man United)

Andrea Agnelli ( previously with Juventus) is going to resign as president of European Club Association (ECA) .

Super League Statement “In exchange for their commitment, Founding Clubs will receive an amount of €3.5 billion solely to support their infrastructure investment plans and to offset the impact of the COVID pandemic.”

FIFA Statement “FIFA can only express its DISAPPROVAL to a ‘closed European breakaway league’ outside of the international football structures and not respecting the aforementioned principles”.