IND vs ENG 4th Test Day 2 Highlights
Image Source: BCCI

IND vs ENG 4th Test Day 2 Highlights: IND 219/7 At Stump’s, Jurel And Kuldeep Hold The Crease Amidst Dominance By England Spinners. It was a day that saw the fortunes of cricket fluctuating with each ball in Ranchi. England’s spinner Shoaib Bashir demonstrated his prowess on a challenging pitch, thus putting his team in control during the fourth test at the JSCA International Stadium in Ranchi

India ended Day 2 at 219 for 7 on the scoreboard and trails by 134 runs, hence there is everything to play for tomorrow in Ranchi. The hosts, having bounced back from loss in Rajkot are required to execute better as they seek to shift the balance of power.

Joe Root and Ollie Robinson were together at the crease and their team has already started batting at 303 for 7. Root had finished off yesterday with his 31st Test century; he continued his good form today as well and along with Robinson they made an important partnership. They managed to forge ahead and lasted long enough by creating an established platform of partnership that amounted to a commendable score of 102 runs making it England’s second-highest eight-wicket stand in India for Tests matches.

Also Read: Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 Schedule PDF Download

Turning Point: Bashir’s Rampage Disrupts India’s Momentum

Robinson’s innings, described by good backing for Root, finished with a well-merited fifty before falling to the guile of Ravindra Jadeja. On the other hand, Jadeja kept up his onslaught and hurriedly took out Shoaib Bashir and James Anderson to stop England from scoring any more than 353 runs with Joe Root still unbeaten on 122. The latter decided to take a traditional route in batting.

Among the Indian bowlers in this match, it was Jadeja who emerged as the most impressive character securing four essential wickets while giving away just 67 runs off his enough overs totaling 32.5 overs. The newly-arrived fast-baller Akash Deep also registered his presence by acquiring three wickets at an expense of 83 keeps throughout nineteen overs he spent on the field.

England’s pacer James Anderson provided an early breakthrough by bowling out Rohit Sharma just in the third over of the innings. This meant that India had a tough start after Rohit left for a paltry score of two. However, substitute Yashasvi Jaiswal partnered with Shubman Gill to illustrate India’s resilience with an important second-wicket stand of 82 runs. Still, Ben Foakes’ strange catch celebration caused controversy when replays showed that it had hit the ground first before being caught thereby casting doubt on their fair play.

Also Read :Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 Points Table & Standings

Bashir’s rampage was the turning point, sweeping aside Gill and Rajat Patidar in quick succession, which increased pressure on the Indian batting line-up. Even Jadeja, who had shown aggression against Tom Hartley, was not immune from Bashir’s trickery as he lost his wicket to the spinner.

Hartley also exacerbated England’s grip on the game when Sarfaraz Khan and Ravichandran Ashwin fell victim to him, exceeding Jasprit Bumrah as the leading wicket-taker for the ongoing Test series. But despite the mounting pressure, Dhruv Jurel and Kuldeep Yadav showed signs of resilience by defensively sticking to their wickets till India ended at 219/7 by the close of play. Jurel was unbeaten on 30 while Kuldeep made 17 runs that ensured that there would be another intriguing day of competition ahead.

IND vs ENG 4th Test Playing XI

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Jurel, R. Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj.

England Playing XI: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Ben Foakes, Tom Hartley, Ollie Robinson, Shoaib Bashir, James Anderson.

IND vs ENG 4th Test Full Squads

IND: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Devdutt Padikkal, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep.

ENG: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Tom Hartley, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson, Shoaib Bashir, Mark Wood, Rehan Ahmed, Daniel Lawrence, Gus Atkinson.