ICC WTC Points Table 2023-25
Image Source: www.worldtestchampionship.com

ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Points Table 2023-25 After NZ vs BAN 2nd Test Match. The third edition of the ICC World Test Championship is scheduled from June 16, 2023, to June 2025, concluding with the final at Lord’s, London. Australia, the defending champions, secured victory over India by 209 runs in the 2023 WTC Final. The tournament spans two years, featuring 68 matches across 27 series in the league stage.

The WTC 2023-25 kicked off with Bangladesh playing New Zealand in a two-Test series at their home ground, while Australia engaged in a three-Test series against Pakistan on their home turf. As the tournament progresses through its early stages, one can anticipate more alterations and surprises on the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) points table. The competition for the top two spots will set to intensify, especially with the crucial upcoming series, including India’s contests against South Africa.

Thrilling encounters have defined the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25, highlighted by the recently concluded Test match between Bangladesh and New Zealand at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium from November 28 to December 21, 2023. However, the match concluded with an exciting victory for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh scripted history by securing their first-ever Test victory over New Zealand on home soil in the 1st Test of the two-match series held in Sylhet. The hosts dominated the match throughout, both with the bat and ball, eventually winning by a comfortable margin of 150 runs. The second Test of the series between Bangladesh and New Zealand in Dhaka has reached an intriguing stage, with the hosts holding a precarious lead at the end of Day 4.

Also Read: PSL 2024: Islamabad United’s History, Captains, And Retained Players List

ICC World Test Championships (WTC) Points Table 2023-25

RankTeamPCT (%)Points MWLDrawPenalty 
1Pakistan 100 2422000
2New Zealand 501221100
4Australia 30.00185221-10
5West Indies16.67420110
7England 15.0095221-19
8Sri Lanka 0020200
9South Africa 0000000

On a turning track, Bangladesh, facing difficulties, got dismissed for 172 runs in their first innings as they chose to bat first. Ajaz Patel and Mitchell Santner, the spin duo, took four wickets each. Mushfiqur Rahim (34 runs) provided some resistance. New Zealand faced early trouble in their reply, falling to 55/5. However, a remarkable counterattack by Glenn Phillips (87 runs) and Kyle Jamieson (20 runs) shifted the momentum. They added a crucial 105 runs for the sixth wicket, guiding New Zealand to a total of 180 all out and an 8-run lead.

In their second innings, Bangladesh cautiously began but lost wickets consistently. Despite Zakir Hasan (59 runs) and Najmul Hossain Shanto (15 runs) showing resilience, they managed only 144 runs. This set New Zealand a target of 136 runs. The Kiwis successfully chased it down with four wickets remaining, thanks to key contributions from Glenn Phillips (32 runs) and Mitchell Santner (27 runs). New Zealand’s bowlers, particularly Ajaz Patel (6-57) and Mitchell Santner (3-51), proved formidable, securing a 4-wicket victory and levelling the series 1-1.