ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venues, Qualified Teams, And Their ODI Stats

Updated: 21 August 2023

ODI World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC Twitter

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venues, Qualified Teams, And Their ODI Stats. ICC ODI World Cup 2023 will be taking place in India in October, and November 2023. India will host the ODI World Cup on its own. In the past, India co-hosted tournaments with Pakistan in 1987, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in 1996, and Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in 2011.

Before Covid-19, the event was set to occur between February 9 and March 26, 2023, but it was ultimately moved to October-November in July 2020 as a result of schedule disruption. A total of 48 matches will be played across twelve venues, including four quarter-finals between the top eight teams, two semi-finals, and finals.

England was the first country to host the ODI cricket World Cup in 1975 which was won by West Indies. Australia is the most successful team. The West Indies and India each have two victories, while Pakistan, England , and Sri Lanka each have one.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023 Squad: Team List, Players And Head Coach For The Tournament

This is all you need to know about ICC ODI World Cup 2023.

Qualifications For ODI World Cup 2023

The 2023 ODI World Cup, like the 2019 World Cup, will feature ten teams. The ICC Cricket World Cup ODI Super League (2020-23), which is now in play, is the only path to automatic qualifying.

While India has won automatic qualifying, the top seven teams will qualify based on their place on the points table on May 31, 2023. As of today, defending champions England have guaranteed their qualification with 125 points and are now second in the league.

While the West Indies (88 in 24 matches), South Africa (59 in 16 matches), and Sri Lanka (62 in 18 matches) are seriously in danger of losing out on automatic qualification, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan are on the verge of qualifying.

The five countries that don’t receive automatic qualification will compete for the remaining two spots in a 10-team World Cup qualifier to be contested in Zimbabwe (18 June–09 July 2023) against regional qualifying teams.

Also Read: Major League Cricket (MLC): Format, Teams, Venues, Broadcast, Live Streaming, Schedule And Time In IST

Venues Of ODI World Cup 2023

ICC has confirmed a total of 10 cities for the ODI World Cup, including Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Mumbai, and Lucknow. The final will take place at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad

Qualified Teams For World Cup 2023

India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and current champion England are the other six nations who qualified. The remaining three teams will qualify through the process of playing qualifiers, which will take place in Zimbabwe in June of this year.

Here is the overall- ODI record of Qualified teams

CountryMatches PlayedWinLossNo ResultTie
New Zealand799368382427