Big Bash League 2023-24
Image Source: Twitter

Updated: 23 January 2024

Big Bash League 2023-24: Dates, Venues, Schedule, Results And Full List Of Player Of The Match Award. The eagerly anticipated Australian franchise cricket tournament, Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24, has begun, captivating cricket fans since it started on December 7 (Thursday). The season is set to culminate with the showdown on January 24, 2024. 

The Big Bash League 2023-24 showcases eight teams vying for the championship. Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder. With their distinct strengths and weaknesses, these diverse teams ensure an exciting and unpredictable season.

In the tournament, six out of the eight teams have secured the title at least once. The Perth Scorchers stand out as the most successful team in the league’s brief history. Having claimed the title five times, including a notable achievement of consecutive victories for two years.

The Sydney Sixers secured the title three times, clinching consecutive victories for two years. The other victorious teams include the Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat, and Sydney Thunder. The 2022–23 Big Bash League season, also known as BBL12. Marked the 12th edition of the professional T20 domestic cricket competition in Australia.

Also Read: BCCI Awards 2024: From Shubman Gill To Ravi Shastri, Here Is The Full List Of Award Winners

Big Bash League 2023-24 Venues

Eight iconic Australian venues will host the Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24, showcasing diverse landscapes and the spirit of cricket. From Adelaide Oval to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), each stadium promises a unique atmosphere for thrilling cricket action.

However, the Gabba in Queensland, Bellerive Oval in Tasmania, Marvel Stadium in Victoria, Perth Stadium in Western Australia, and iconic venues like the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Sydney Showground Stadium in New South Wales will all contribute to a national cricketing celebration.

Big Bash League 2023-24 Format

The League stage of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24 will consist of 40 matches, with the top 4 teams advancing to the playoffs. In a departure from previous formats, this season will feature four playoffs instead of 5. The BBL 2023-24 Qualifier on January 19 will showcase the top two teams, while the Knockout on January 20 will see the third and fourth-placed teams in action. Also, the Challenger match on January 22 will determine the finalist by pitting the loser of the Qualifier against the winner of the Knockout.

Also Read: IPL 2024: All 10 Teams Captain, Their Salary And Head Coach List

Big Bash League 2023-24 Full Schedule & Result

DateTeamsVenueTime (In IST)ResultMOTM
December 7Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne StarsGabba1:45 PM Brisbane Heat won by 103 runsColin Munro
December 8Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne RenegadesSCG1:45 PM Sydney Sixers won by 8 runsSteve Smith
December 9Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane HeatAdelaide Oval1:45 PM Match abandonedN/A
December 10Melbourne Renegades vs Perth ScorchersGMHBA Stadium1:45 PM ISTNo ResultN/A
December 11Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney SixersUniversity of Tasmania Stadium1:45 PM ISTSS won by 6 wicketsDaniel Hughes
December 12Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane HeatManuka Oval1:45 PM ISTBH won by 20 runsMitchell Swepson
December 13Melbourne Stars vs Perth ScorchersMCG1:45 PM ISTPS won by 7 wicktesHamish McKenzie
December 19Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney ThunderAdelaide Oval1:45 PM ISTSTR won by 6 wicketsMatthew Short
December 20Perth Scorchers vs Hobart HurricanesOptus Stadium1:45 PM ISTSCO won by 9 wicketsJason Behrendorff
December 21Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane HeatMarvel Stadium1:45 PM ISTHEA won by 6 wicketsPaul Walter
December 22Sydney Sixers vs Adelaide StrikersSCG1:45 PM ISTSIX won by 1 runJordan Silk
December 23Melbourne Stars vs Sydney ThunderLavington Sports Ground10:00 AM ISTTHU won by 5 wicketsZaman Khan
December 23Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne RenegadesBlundstone Arena1:45 PM ISTHUR won by 6 wicketsMatthew Wade
December 26Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne StarsSCG12:45 PM ISTSTA won by 4 wicketsHilton Cartwright
December 26Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne RenegadesOptus Stadium3:45 PM ISTSCO won by 13 runsJosh Inglis
December 27Brisbane Heat vs Sydney ThunderGabba1:45 PM ISTHEA won by 15 runsNathan McSweeney
December 28Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne StarsBlundstone Arena1:45 PM ISTSTA won by 7 wicketsGlenn Maxwell
December 29Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide StrikersMarvel Stadium1:45 PM ISTREN won by 4 wicketsJake Fraser-McGurk
December 30Sydney Thunder vs Sydney SixersSydney Showground1:45 PM ISTNo ResultNo Result
December 31Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne StarsAdelaide Oval1:45 PM ISTSTA won by 7 wicketsMarcus Stoinis
January 1Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney ThunderBlundstone Arena10:30 AM ISTHUR won by 7 wicketsChris Jordan
January 1Brisbane Heat vs Sydney SixersGabba1:45 PM ISTNo ResultNo Result
January 2Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne RenegadesMCG1:45 PM ISTSTA won by 8 wicketsGlenn Maxwell
January 3Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane HeatC.ex Coffs International Stadium10:30 AM ISTHEA won by 3 runsPaul Walter
January 3Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide StrikersOptus Stadium3:45 PM ISTSCO won by 42 runsLaurie Evans
January 4Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart HurricanesMarvel Stadium1:45 PM ISTHUR won by 6 wicketsSam Hain
January 5Adelaide Strikers vs Perth ScorchersAdelaide Oval1:45 PM ISTSTR won by 9 wicketsMatt Short
January 6Melbourne Stars vs Sydney SixersMCG1:45 PM ISTSIX won by 7 wicketsJames Vince
January 7Brisbane Heat vs Hobart HurricanesGabba1:45 PM ISTHEA won by 1 runXavier Bartlett
January 8Sydney Thunder vs Perth ScorchersSydney Showground1:45 PM ISTSCO won by 7 wicketsAshton Agar
January 9Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval1:45 PM ISTSTA won by 5 wicketsCameron Boyce
January 10Brisbane Heat vs Perth ScorchersGabba2:10 PM ISTHEA won by 23 runsMichael Neser
January 11Hobart Hurricanes vs Adelaide StrikersBlundstone Arena1:45 PM ISTSTA won by 8 wicketsJake Weatherald
January 12Sydney Sixers vs Sydney ThunderSCG1:45 PM ISTSIX won by 19 runsSteve O’Keefe
January 13Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane HeatOptus Stadium10:45 AM ISTSCO won by 35 runsNick Hobson
January 13Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne StarsMarvel Stadium2:00 PM ISTREA won by 6 wicketsShaun Marsh
January 14Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide StrikersManuka Oval1:45 PM ISTSTR won by 9 wicketsLloyd Pope
January 15Melbourne Stars vs Hobart HurricanesMCG1:45 PM ISTHH won by 7 runsNathan Ellis
January 16Perth Scorchers vs Sydney SixersOptus Stadium2:10 PM ISTSS won by 3 wcktsDaniel Hughes
January 17Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne RenegadesSydney Showground1:45 PM ISTNR
January 19Sydney vs HeatOval1:45 PM ISTSS won by 39 runsBen Dwarshuis
January 20AS vs PSPerth1:45 PM ISTAS won by 50 runsLlyod Pope
January 22BH vs ASOval1.45 PMBH won by 54 runsJohn Brown
January 24SS vs BHSydney1.45 PM TBD