WPL 2023
Image Source : Twitter.com/ wplt20

WPL 2023 MI Vs UPW: Sophie Ecclestone Helped UP Warriorz To End Mumbai Indians’ Unbeaten Run. Harmanpreet Kaur-led Mumbai Indians were at odds with UP Warriorz. Mumbai Indians are topping the WPL 2023 points table with five wins in five games. Alyssa Healy-led Warriorz is placed in the third position on the points table with two wins and three losses.

UP Warriorz Wrapped Up Mumbai Indians To 127

UP Warriorz won the toss and choose to bowl first. Mumbai Indians opener Hayley Matthews smashed some attacking strokes early in the innings. However, second opener Yastika Bhatia was dismissed by pacer Anjali Sarvani. Sophie Ecclestone removed in-form batter Nat Sciver-Brunt on just five. Ecclestone picket second wicket by sending Matthews back to the dugout.

Also Read: Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023: Who Will Win WPL 2023? Prediction

Matthews made 35 runs off 30 balls with the help of one six and three towering sixes. Mumbai continued to lose wickets in succession. No batsman could stick on the pitch for a considerable time. Warriorz wrapped up Mumbai’s innings to 127 in 20 overs. Sophie Ecclestone picked three wickets after conceding only 15 runs in four overs.

Sophie Ecclestone’s all-round efforts helped Warriorz to beat Mumbai Indians

While chasing the target, Warriorz didn’t have a great start. They lost their two openers early in the innings. Middle-order batsmen Tahlia McGrath and Grace Harris stitched a vital partnership for the fourth wicket.

All-rounder Sophie Ecclestone helped Warriorz to defeat table-toppers Mumbai by five wickets in the final of the game. She remained unbeaten on 16 off 17 balls. Amelia Kerr bagged two wickets after conceding 22 runs in her fours overs.

Brief Scorecard: UP Warriorz  129/5 (19.3 overs) (Harris 39, McGrath 38, Kerr 2/22) beat Mumbai Indians 127 all-out (20 overs) (Matthews 35, Wong 32, Ecclestone 3/15) by five wickets.

Also Read: WPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap List, And Updated Points Table

Mumbai Indians Women Playing XI: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Yastika Bhatia(wk), Dhara Gujjar, Amanjot Kaur, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque, Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Issy Wong, Humaira Kazi,

UP Warriorz Playing XI: Alyssa Healy (c/wk), Parshavi Chopra, Simran Shaikh, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Devika Vaidya, Kiran Navgire, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Deepti Sharma