WPL 2023 Eliminator
Nat Sciver-Brunt Image Source: Twitter.com/wplt20

WPL 2023 Eliminator: Mumbai Indians Beat UP Warriorz By 72 Runs, Storm Into Final. In the Women’s Premier League (WPL), Mumbai Indians (MI) were up against UP Warriorz (UPW) at DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai in the eliminator game. Harmanpreet Kaur-led Mumbai Indians are placed in second position in the WPL points table with six wins and two losses; whereas UP Warriorz is in third position with four wins and four losses. Both teams qualified for the WPL 2023 eliminator and the winner of this eliminator game will book their ticket to the final against table-tappers Delhi Capitals.

UP Warriorz captain Alyssa Healy has won the toss and choose to bowl first. MI openers Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Matthews added 30 runs in the first four overs. However, Yastika was caught by Kiran Navgire at mid-on off pacer Anjali Sarvani. Second opener Matthews also got out after making 26 runs off the same number of deliveries.

Also Read: Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023: Who Will Win WPL 2023? Prediction

Nat Sciver-Brunt Smashed Her Second Fifty In IPL 2023

MI skipper Harmanpreet Kaur also couldn’t stick much on the crease and got out after making 14 runs off 15 balls. Despite wickets falling at one end, one-down batsman Nat Sciver-Brunt played sensibly and kept the scoreboard ticking. Allrounder Amelia Kerr and Sciver-Brunt added 60 runs for the fourth wicket. Sciver-Brunt completed her fifty in just 26 balls with an elegant boundary over extra cover.

In the death overs, both batsmen cracked many boundaries to amas many runs. Kerr smashed a hat-trick of boundaries off Sophie Ecclestone before getting dismissed in the same over. Kerr scored 29 runs off 18 balls.

Sciver-Brunt finished Mumbai’s innings by amassing 18 runs in the last over. Her spectacular unbeaten knock of 72 runs off just 28 balls helped Mumbai Indians to put a huge total of 182 on board in 20 overs. Her outstanding knock was studded with nine stylish boundaries and two sixes.

Also Read: WPL 2023: Orange Cap, Purple Cap List, And Updated Points Table

Pacer Issy Wong Ran Through The Batting Line-Up Of UP Warriorz 

While chasing the huge target of 183 runs, UP Warriorz lost three wickets early in the innings. Spinner Saika Ishaque dismissed opener Shweta Sehrawat in her first over; whereas seamer Issy Wong removed UP’s skipper Healy for just 11.

In-form middle-order batsman Tahlia McGrath got run out courtesy of a mix-up with Navgire. This dismissal put UP Warriorz in deep trouble. UP Warriorz continues to lose wickets in succession. Navgire played a valiant knock before getting dismissed by Wong. Navgire scored 43 runs off 27 balls with the help of four boundaries and three towering sixes.

On the next two deliveries, Wong dismissed Simran Shaikh and Ecclestone to complete the first hat-trick of the WPL 2023. She finished her quota of four overs by taking four wickets while conceding just 15 runs. Mumbai Indian wrapped the innings of UP Warriorz on 110 in 17.4 overs to register a mammoth win in the eliminator game. With this clinical win, Mumbai Indians secured their seat for the WPL 2023 final.

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule: IPL Teams, Groups, Full Schedule, Venues, Time In IST, Results, Points Table, Man Of The Match List, And All You Need To Know

Brief Scorecard: Mumbai Indians 182/4 (20 overs) (Sciver-Brunt 72*,  Kerr 29, Ecclestone 2/39) beat UP Warriorz 110 all-out (Navgire 43, Wong 4/15, Ishaque 2/24 ) by 72 runs.

Playing XIs Of Mumbai Indians And UP Warriorz 

Mumbai Indians Playing XI: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Hayley Matthews, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong

UP Warriorz Playing XI: Alyssa Healy (wk/c), Shweta Sehrawat, Anjali Sarvani, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Simran Shaikh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone