FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Final: England vs Spain- Result, Date, Time, Venue, Head-To-Head, And Prize Money Details

Updated 20 August 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 Finals Update
Image Source: - @FIFAWWC

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Final: England vs Spain, Result, Date, Time, Venue, Head-To-Head, And Prize Money Details. FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 has reached its climax with two European giants England and Spain capturing their spot in the ultimate game. England defeated Australia whereas Spain got the better of Sweden to reach the finals. Both teams had a contrasting journey into the finals. 

Spain suffered a shock defeat in the group stage and finished second in the group stage. However, they got better as the tournament progressed and registered comprehensive victories in the knockouts. On the other hand, England started dominantly in the group stage but had to sweat out in the knockout stages. 

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Results

In a closely contested final at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, Spain secured a 1-0 victory over England. Olga Carmona of Spain scored the crucial goal, marking a historic milestone for the Spanish Women’s Football Team. Both teams showed great determination, resulting in a narrow margin reflected in the scoreline. It is worth noting that both managers, Jorge Vilda of Spain and Weigman of England, made interesting lineup changes. Putellas was replaced by Paralluelo for Spain, while James returned from suspension but remained on the bench for England.

Women’s FIFA World Cup Final 2023: Date, Time and Venue Revealed

The FIFA Women’s World Cup final will be played on 20th August 2023, Sunday from 3:30 PM (IST). The picturesque Stadium Australia in Sydney will host the ultimate clash. 

Have England or Spain Ever Won the FIFA Women’s World Cup

The finals of the 2023 World Cup will witness a new champion. Neither England nor Spain have won the tournament before. England are the current European champions having won the title last summer. In the course of their victory, the England team defeated Spain in the quarterfinals.      

However, Spain has yet to taste the success of any silverware. It has not won any major tournament in its history. 

Also Read: FIFA World Cup 2026 Financial Insights: Expenditure And Revenue Breakdown

Head-to-Head Stats  

England has a dominating record over Spain with six victories in all meetings. Spain has emerged victorious on only two occasions. Two games have also resulted in a draw.  

Where to Watch the FIFA Women’s World Cup Finals 2023

Viewers in India can watch the mouth-watering clash on the FanCode App. You can download the app from the Google Play Store and Apple App Store.   You can also watch the Women’s FIFA World Cup on Star Sports channels.

Key Players to Watch Out for 


Lauren James who missed the quarterfinals and the semifinals is expected to be back in the squad. 

Ella Toone has emerged as the backbone of England’s midfield and she has been very efficient in taking control of the midfield. 

Alessia Rousso has been a revelation for her exemplary striking capabilities. 

Keira Walsh, the senior figure in the team maintains smooth coordination between attacking and defensive strategies.    


Alexia Putellas is the current Ballon D Or winner and the best contemporary player in the world. Her skills and game awareness are second to none and if she clicks on Sunday, England does not stand a chance. 

Aitana Bonmatti, who plays on the right midfield controls the play with ease and calmness and can break through during counterattacks giving defenders a run for their money.

Salma Paralluelo is the rising star who has shown excellent ball-striking capabilities throughout the tournament. 

Also Read: Rise of Saudi Football Clubs: Challenging European Dominance

FIFA Women’s World Cup Prize Money

The total prize pot for FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is $110 million. Every participating team in the tournament will receive $3.02 million. The winning team will receive 32.36 Cr or $4.29 million.