Image Source: ICC

BCCI Announces Schedule Of India Tour Of South Africa.: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Cricket South Africa (CSA) revealed the complete schedule for India’s December-January tour of South Africa on Friday. The series will be India’s first major assignment following the ODI World Cup.

Three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Test matches make up the multi-format series, which got underway on December 10. These matches include the well-known Boxing Day Test in Centurion and the New Year’s Test in Cape Town.

The three Twenty20 Internationals are planned for December 10 (in Durban), December 12 (in Gqeberha), and December 14 (in Johannesburg). The first ODI will also be held in Johannesburg on December 17. While the second taking place in Gqeberha on December 19 and Paarl on December 21.

The two-match Gandhi-Mandela Test series will be included The World Test Championship 2023-25. The T20Is will receive extra attention as the series shifts to the shortest format ahead of next year’s World Cup in the Caribbean.

The first Test Match in this series will be a ‘Boxing Day Test’. The Boxing Day Test has a traditional importance in the world of cricket since it begins on December 26th and concludes on December 30th, just before the New Year. Many teams organize their schedules to include a boxing day test.

Significance Of India Tour Of South Africa

The series begins with a three-match T20I series. Which will serve as preparation for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup the following year. The Twenty Over games will be held at Durban, Gqeberha, and Johannesburg.

” Cricket South Africa is looking forward to welcoming the Indian Cricket Team and their ardent fans to our shores,” stated CSA Chairperson Lawson Naidoo. “This is an important tour for both teams, and I am thrilled that we will be able to play all three formats of the game.” South Africa and India both have excellent skill, so we should expect entertaining cricket and interesting contests.

Naidoo also stated that The trip also allows them to showcase the finest of South Africa. As the matches are scattered around the country by the CSA. The CSA Chief also stated that they have a great relationship with the BCCI and thanked them for their help in putting the trip together.

Jay Shah, BCCI Secretary, responded.  The Freedom Series is noteworthy not just because it involves two superb Test teams, but it also celebrates Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela, two great figures who changed our respective countries and the world around them.

Also Read: England, Australia And India Are In Talks To Launch Women’s Champions League

Schedule Of India Tour Of South Africa

1st T20 – 10th December.

2nd T20 – 12th December.

3rd T20 – 14th December.

1st ODI – 17th December.

2nd ODI – 19th December.

3rd ODI – 21st December.

1st Test – 26th to 30th December.

2nd Test – 3rd to 7th January.