Australian Open 2024 Fixtures, Format 
Image Source: Twitter - @AustralianOpen

Australian Open 2024: Fixtures, Format, Prize Money (In Indian Rupees), and Broadcast Details. The Australian Open is the first grand slam of the tennis season and it is the most brutal because of the scorching heat prevalent at that time. It is the only slam played in the Asia-Oceania region and many fans are following the event. Until the 2023 season, it was a traditional 14-day tournament but from 2024 the organisers have made a big change. 

From the 2024 season, the Australian Open will be a 15-day tournament starting from Sunday. Read on to learn all the exciting news and stuff related to the Australian Open. 

Venues of Australian Open 2024    

Australian Open is played in the sporting capital of Australia i.e., Melbourne. Currently, there are 6 operational courts in the Australian Open and they are as follows: 

  • Rod Laver Arena
  • John Cain Arena 
  • Margaret Court Arena 
  • Show Court Arena 
  • Show Court 2
  • Show Court 3 

Also Read: Top 5 Richest Tennis Players In The World 2023

Schedule of Australian Open 2024

Till the 2023 season, the Australian Open was a 14-day event starting on the third Monday of January. However, from the 2024 season, organizers have made a massive change in its scheduling. From the next season, it will be a 15-day event and it will start on 14th January with the finals scheduled for 28th January 2024.

Format of Australian Open 2024 

It is a knock-out event i.e., if a player loses a match, he/she is out of the tournament. There are a total of seven rounds i.e., 1st round, 2nd round, 3rd round, 4th round, quarterfinals, semi-finals, and finals. The top 32 ranked players get the seeding as per their ranking. The draw and two halves i.e., top half and bottom half. The top seed gets placed in the first half and the second seed gets placed in the bottom half of the draw. The two undefeated players meet in the final and the winner of that match becomes the champion.

Also Read: The Top 5 Greatest Women’s Tennis Players Of All Time

Where to Watch

Region/Country  Broadcasters 
Africa BeIN Sports and SuperSport 
Asia Pacific and Oceania Sky, CCTV, Channel 9, Stan Sport, Great Sports and Digicel 
Central Asia Eurosport and Sony Sports Network
Indian Subcontinent  Sony Sports Network 
Europe Eurosport and Servus TV 
North America ESPN and TSN 
Middle East Eurosport and BeIN Sport 

Australian Open 2023 Season Champions 

Men’s Singles: Novak Djokovic 

Women’s Singles: Aryna Sabalenka 

Men’s Doubles: Rinky Hijikta and Jason Kubler 

Women’s Doubles: Katerina Siniakova and Barbora Krejcikova 

Mixed Doubles: Luisa Stefani and Rafael Matos 

Prize Money Australian Open 2024 

Segment Winner  (INR)Runner-up  (INR)Semi-finalists (INR)Quarterfinalists 4th Round 3rd round 2nd Round 1st round 
Singles $2,975,00015.7 cr $1,625,0008.6 cr $925,0004.9 cr$555,250$338,250$227,925$158,850$106,250
Doubles $695,0003.68 cr$370,0001.96 cr $210,0001.11 cr$116,500$67,250$46,500$30,975
Mixed Doubles $157,75083 lakhs $89,45047.4 lakhs $47,50025 lakhs $25,250$12,650$6,600
$ (Australian Dollar)

All amounts are in Australian Dollars and Indian Rupees

Also Read: List Of The Longest Wimbledon Men’s Singles Finals To Date

Draw Release Date of Australian Open 2024

The Australian Open organizers haven’t yet announced the exact date for draws. However, going by convention the draws for the event happen on the last Thursday before the start of the tournament. The tentative draw release date for the Australian Open 2024 is 11th January 2024.