Asia Cup 2023 BAN vs SL, 2nd Match: Sri Lanka Beat Bangladesh By Five Wickets

Asia Cup 2023 BAN vs SL, 2nd Match: Sri Lanka Beat Bangladesh By Five Wickets. The Asia Cup 2023 started on Wednesday with the match between Pakistan and Nepal. In the first match, Babar Azam and Co. started their campaign by defeating Nepal by 238 runs for the first time in the Asia Cup. This match was played at Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan, the second match of the tournament was played between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Sri Lanka, in which home team Sri Lanka defeated Bangladesh by five wickets and earned two points.

Asia Cup 2023 BAN vs SL
Image Source- ACC

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and decided to bowl first, and this decision was in his favor. Bangladesh team scored only 164 runs. Najmul Hossain Shanto, the third wicket batsman from the side of the team, played the highest innings of 89 runs, apart from him no other batsman was seen in rhythm.

While chasing the easy target of 164 runs, the Sri Lankan team initially faltered but then thanks to Sadeera Samarawickrama’s 54 runs and Charith Asalanka’s unbeaten 62 runs, the team chased the target and started the tournament with a win by defeating Bangladesh by five wickets.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: Prize Money In Indian Rupees And Sponsors List

BAN vs SL Match Details

Match – BAN vs SL, 2nd Match, Group B, Asia Cup, 2023

Date – Thursday, August 31, 2023

Toss – Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bat

Time – 3:00 PM

Venue – Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele

Match Result – Sri Lanka won by 5 wkts

Bangladesh Scorecard

Mohammad Naim 16233069.56
Najmul Hossain Shanto 891227072.95
Shakib Al Hasan (c)5111045.45
Towhid Hridoy 20410048.78
Mushfiqur Rahim13221059.09

Sri Lanka Scorecard

Pathum Nissanka 141310107.69
Sadeera Samarawickrama 54776070.12
Charith Asalanka 62925167.39
Dasun Shanaka (c)14211066.66

BAN vs SL Playing 11

Bangladesh – Tanzid Hasan, Mohammad Naim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka – Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana