ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Teams, Venues, Prize Money, And Broadcast Channel

ICC World Cup 2023
Source: ICC

Updated: 01 March 2023

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Teams, Venues, Prize Money, And Broadcast Channel. The 2023 ICC ODI World Cup is knocking at our doors. The quadrennial marque event is scheduled to kick off in October 2023 and cricket fans are eagerly waiting for the tournament to unfold. Last time, the ODI World Cup was lifted by the hosts England and that has been true for the last three world Cups. This means that for the last three World Cups, the prestigious title has been lifted by the host nations. 

This year, the ICC World cup will take place in India and thus Indian fans, in particular, are very excited. The last time India hosted the ODI World Cup was back in 2011 and we ended up lifting the trophy under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Expectations are thus understandably very high from Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team. 

Also Read: IPL 2023 Schedule: IPL Teams, Groups, Full Schedule, Venues, Time In IST, Results, Points Table, Man Of The Match List, And All You Need To Know

ICC World Cup 2023 Details

Hosts- India
Date- Oct-Nov 2023
Teams- 10
Matches- 48
Administrator- ICC

In this article, we shall be taking a look at the schedule, team list, prize money and broadcaster of the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup. 

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Schedule 

The final schedule for ICC World Cup 2023 has not been released yet. However, we know that the tournament will start on 10th October and the final will be played on 26th November. The tournament will thus go on for more than a month. 10 teams will be participating in the main stage of the tournament and they shall be put in the same group. 

Also Read: ICC Rankings: Ravichandran Ashwin Replaces James Anderson, Becomes No.1 Test bowler In The ICC Rankings

The matches will be played in the following venues: 

  • Wankhede – Mumbai 
  • Eden Gardens – Kolkata
  • Firoz Shah Kotla – Delhi 
  • M Chinnaswamy – Bangalore 
  • MA Chidambaram – Chennai 
  • Narendra Modi Stadium – Ahmedabad 
  • PCA stadium – Mohali 
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium – Hyderabad
  • VCA Stadium – Nagpur
  • MCA Stadium – Pune
  • Green Park Stadium – Kanpur 
  • SCA Stadium – Rajkot 

Also Read:- World Test Championship (WTC) 2023: How Can Team India Qualify For The Final

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Teams 

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 will feature a total of 10 teams who will be put in the same group. All ten teams will play each other and at the end of the group stage, the top 4 teams on the points table will qualify for the semi-finals following which the knockout stage will start. 

So far, England, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies,  India (host), and Australia are the eight teams that have qualified for the 2023 ODI World Cup. Two more teams will have to qualify for the tournament and they will be announced soon. 

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Prize Money 

The 2023 ODI World Cup winners will get a prize money of $4 Million while the runners-up will get $2 million. This is exactly the same as the prize money from the last world cup, i.e, ODI World Cup 2019. 

Here is a breakdown of the total prize money pot: 

StageTeams AmountTotal
ICC World Cup Winner 20231$ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000
ICC World Cup Runners-Up1$ 2,000,00$ 2,000,00
ICC World Cup Losing Semi-Finalists2$ 800,000 each$ 1,600,000
Winners of each league stage match45$ 40,000 each$ 1,800,000
League stage teams6$ 100,000 each$ 600,000

Also Read: IPL 2023: All 10 Teams Captain, Their Total IPL Salary And Net Worth

ICC ODI World Cup 2023: Broadcaster

ICC had awarded Star Sports the global broadcast rights for all ICC events until 2023 on a tender basis and thus they will be the official broadcasters of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 as well. The matches will also be able to be streamed on Disney+ Hotstar. 

Previous articleWorld Test Championship (WTC) 2023: How Can Team India Qualify For The Final
Next articleIssue Of Workload In Indian Cricket And Possible Solutions