West Indies Squad T20 2022
Image Source- twitter.com/windiescricket

T20 World Cup 2022: No Sunil Narine As West Indies Announces 15-Man Squad For ICC T20 WC. Two-time T20 world cup champions West announced their 15-man squad for the T20 world cup 2022, which will be led by Nicholas Pooran on Wednesday. Pooran will lead for the first time in the World Cup. Rovman Powell has been named the vice-captain of the team.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Can Team India Win The Trophy After Their Poor Performance In The Asia Cup?

Russell And Narine Excluded

All-rounder Andre Russell and Sunil Narine have been excluded from the squad. West Indies have picked spinner Yannic Cariah and all-rounder, Raymon Reifer, as their two uncapped players in the 15-man team. Left-handed batter Evin Lewis who last played in the T20 WC 2021 has also been included in the team.

“We have selected a mixture of youth and experience to represent the West Indies,” said Cricket West Indies chief Selector Desmond Haynes.

West Indies failed to make a direct place in the Super 12 stages. They will start their WC campaign with a match against Scotland in the first of three Group B fixtures played at the Bellerive Oval, to qualify for the Super 12 phase of the tournament.

West Indies T20 World Cup squad:

Nicholas Pooran (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Rovman Powell (VC), Sheldon Cottrell, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Odean Smith, Kyle Mayers, Obed Mccoy, Raymon Reifer.