Leicester City Football Club: A History of the Foxes
Image Source: Twitter.com - @LCFC

Leicester City History

Leicester City Football Club, also known as the Foxes, is a Leicester-based football club in the East Midlands of England. It was founded in 1884 by a group of boys of Wyggeston School as Leicester Fosse Football Club and adopted the name of Leicester City in 1919 and plays its home ground matches at King Power Stadium, which has a capacity of more than thirty-two thousand people. The Club is owned by King Power and is under the guidance of Head Coach Adam Sadler and the chairmanship of Aiyawatt Srivaddhanaprabha.

In the early twenty-first century, the Club experienced a period of poor performance and reached its all-time worst decline. However, the Club regained its momentum after performing well in the 2016 UEFA Championship league. Since then, the Club has won many famous tournaments and been the runner-up in many European Cups.

The Club’s main rivals are Nottingham Forest, Derby County, and Coventry City. On 2nd April 2023, Brendan Rodgers, the Club’s most recent manager, departed.

Leicester City Basic Details

OwnerKing Power
Home StadiumKing Power Stadium
ManagerMike Stowell,Adam Sadler
Year of Establishment1884

Leicester City Achievement/Honours

First Premier League12015-16
Second Championship71924-25,1936-37,1953-54,1956-57,1970-71,1979-80,2013-14
Third League One12008-09
FA Cup12020-21
League Cup31963-64,1996-97,1999-2000
FA Charity Shield21971,2021

Also Read: Top 5 Richest Footballers In The World And Their Net Worth In 2023

Current Players

Player RolePlayer names
GoalkeeperDanny Ward,Daniel Iversen
DefenderDaniel Amartey,Harry Souttar,James Justin,Caglar Soeyuencue,Jannik Vestergaard,Joe Wormleighton,Jonny Evans,Luke Thomas,Ricardo Pereira,Timothy Castagne,Victor Kristiansen,Wesley Fofana,Wout Faes
MidfieldersBoubakary Soumare,Dennis Praet,Harvey Barnes,James Maddison,Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall,Lewis Brunt,Nampalys Mendy,Sammy Braybrooke,Wanya Marcal-Madivadua,Wilfred NdidiYouri Tielemans
ForwardsJamie Vardy,Kelechi Iheanacho,Patson Daka,Mateus Tete