World Cup 2023
Image Source: Hindustan Times

Updated: 08 July 2023

ODI World Cup 2023: Team Sri Lanka Schedule and Squad. On October 5 and lasting through November 19, the 13th Cricket World Cup will take place in India across 12 venues. The first match of ODI WC 2023 will be played between defending champion England vs New Zealand at Ahmedabad. A round-robin format will be used for the 45-group stage matches in World Cup, with each side playing the other team once. The CWC 2023 will include ten teams, eight of whom have already qualified and the remaining two will join by winning the ongoing Cricket World Cup (CWC) Qualifiers 2023 in Zimbabwe.

Sri Lankan cricket team played three ODI World Cup finals and won their maiden trophy in 1996 under the captaincy of Arjuna Ranatunga. Moreover, they have also finished as runners-up in 2007 and 2011 ICC ODI World Cup. Sri Lanka had previously reached the World Cup semi-finals in 2003 and the 2015 quarter-finals. Additionally, Sri Lanka has also co-hosted the ODI World Cup twice (in 1996 and 2011).

As of now, Team Sri Lanka has not qualified for the CWC 2023. However, they just secured their place in the Super Six of CWC 2023 Qualifiers by defeating Ireland. Team Sri Lanka’s performance over the past few years has been poor, as they have struggled to win crucial games. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka’s Super Six qualification may give them a foundation to fix and ensure their place in the forthcoming CWC 2023.

Also Read:

Sri Lanka Schedule for World Cup 2023

On Tuesday, 27 June, ICC released the schedule for CWC 2023
07 OctSri Lanka vs South AfricaDelhi
12 OctPak vs SLHyderabad
16 OctAus vs SLLucknow
21 OctSL vs NetLucknow
26 OctSL vs EngBengaluru
30 OctSL vs AfgPune
02 NovInd vs SLMumbai
06 NovSL vs BanDelhi
09 NovNZ vs SLBengaluru

Probable 15-Men Squad of Sri Lanka for World Cup 2023

Sri Lankan Cricket Board have not released Sri Lanka squad for CWC 2023. However, it is speculated that they may release the names of the players soon. Meanwhile, this could be the possible squad:

Batsman – Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (WK), Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK)

 All Rounder – Dasun Shanaka (C), Wanindu Hasaranga, Dhananjaya De Silva, Dushan Hemantha

Bowlers – Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesa Pathirana

Probable Playing XI of Sri Lanka – Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (WK), Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka (C), Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha