World Cup 2023
Image Source: BT Sports

Updated: 16 August 2023

ODI World Cup 2023: Team England Schedule And Squad. The ICC’s flagship event, the Cricket World Cup, will be played from 5th October to 19th November in India. A total of 10 teams will play in the tournament across 10 venues including Mumbai, Chennai and Ahmedabad.

Team England is the defending champion of the ODI CWC. After defeating New Zealand at Lord’s, they secured their first championship in the previous CWC (2019). Moreover, the first edition of the World Cup was also hosted by England in 1975. With five appearances, England holds the record for most World Cup hosts. Their nation has hosted the first three World Cups in a row.

The ICC CWC 2023 will feature 48 games, including two semifinals and one final. This tournament will be played in a round-robin format for all teams. According to the format, each team will get to face the other team once. The eight confirmed teams for the 2023 World Cup are England, South Africa, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, India (Host), Pakistan, and New Zealand. Two additional teams will be announced from the 2023 CWC Qualifiers results.

Team England Schedule for CWC 2023

The defending champion England will play their first match against New Zealand as an opening match in Ahmedabad at Narendra Modi Stadium. This match is same as the final of CWC 2019. The official schedule of England for CWC 2023 is mentioned below.

5th OctoberEngland vs New ZealandAhmedabad
10th OctoberEngland vs BangladeshDharamsala
14th OctoberEngland vs AfghanistanDelhi
21st OctoberEngland vs South AfricaMumbai
26th OctoberEngland vs Sri LankaBengaluru
29th OctoberEngland vs IndiaLucknow
4th NovemberEngland vs AustraliaAhmedabad
8th NovemberEngland vs NetherlandsPune
12th NovemberEngland vs PakistanKolkata

*CWC Qualifiers 2023

Source: ICC Cricket Website

Also Read: ODI World Cup 2023: Team Australia Schedule And Squad

Probable 15 Men Squad of England for CWC 2023

Since England won their series against South Africa in 2022-2023 and against Sri Lanka in early 2023, the English team might only be making a few changes in their squad. However, the makeshift 15 men squad of Team England might something look like this as per reports. Ben Stokes took a U-turn from their retirement and now he will be part of WC.

Opener – Johnny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root

Middle Order – Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (C) & (wk), Jason Roy

Spinners – Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid

Pacers – David Willey Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Olly Stone, Reece Topley

Makeshift Playing XI of England ­– Johnny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Jos Buttler (C) & (wk), Harry Brooke, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes