ODI World Cup 2023: Team Bangladesh Schedule, Venue And Squad

Updated: 08 July 2023

World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC

ODI World Cup 2023: Team Bangladesh Schedule, Venue, and Squad. The cricketing extravaganza the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 gears up to captivate fans worldwide scheduled to take place from 5th October to 19th November, this prestigious tournament will be hosted solely by India. Ten extraordinary teams will compete in this event, where they will play 48 games at ten different locations. Bangladesh will play their match against India on 19th October in Pune.

In 1999, Bangladesh appeared in the ODI World Cup for the first time. Bangladesh’s accomplishments are such that they are yet to make it through the World Cup Semi-Finals, let alone the championship game. However, the Tigers managed to reach the Quarter-Finals back in the 2015 World Cup. Moreover, Bangladesh also hosted the 2011 World Cup jointly with India and Sri Lanka.

Before the 2023 World Cup, Bangladesh has 3 ODI matches to play against Afghanistan at home. These 3 ODI and a few T20I matches is all they have to set their ideal squad before leaving for India.

Bangladesh schedule and venues for World Cup 2023

7th OctoberSatBangladesh v AfghanistanDharamsala
10th OctoberTueBangladesh v EnglandDharamsala
14th OctoberSatBangladesh v New ZealandChennai
19th OctoberThuBangladesh v IndiaPune
24th OctoberTueBangladesh v South AfricaMumbai
28th OctoberSatBangladesh v NetherlandsKolkata
31st OctoberTueBangladesh v PakistanKolkata
6th NovemberMonBangladesh v Sri LankaDelhi
12th NovemberSunBangladesh v AustraliaPune
Source- icc-cricket.com

*CWC Qualifiers 2023

Also Read: https://www.sportsganga.com/cricket/asia-cup-2023-ind-vs-pak-format-squad-predicted-playing-xis-and-where-to-watch/

Tentative 15 Men Squad of Bangladesh for World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has set August 29 for the World Cup 2023 squad submission deadline. So eventually every team, including Bangladesh, has to submit their squad before the given date. However, the makeshift squad of Bangladesh might look like this:

Batsmen­ – Mohammad Naim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das (wk), Towhid Hridoy, Tamim Iqbal (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk)

All-Rounder – Shakib Al Hasan (spin), Afif Hossain Dhrubo (spin), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (spin), Taijul Islam (spin)

Pacers – Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud

Tentative Playing XI of Bangladesh ­- Mohammad Naim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das (wk), Tamim Iqbal (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (spin), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (spin), Taijul Islam (spin), Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam