IND vs ENG: Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul Will Miss the Second Test Due to Injuries
Image Source : BCCI

IND vs ENG: Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul Will Miss the Second Test Due to Injuries KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja will be sidelined for the second Test against England in Vizag due to injuries sustained in the previous match in Hyderabad. In an announcement on January 29, the BCCI stated that Jadeja suffered a hamstring injury, while Rahul reported pain in his right quadriceps.

The BCCI’s official statement reads, “Mr. Ravindra Jadeja and Mr. KL Rahul have been ruled out of the second IDFC First Bank Test against England in Vizag, starting February 2, 2024. Jadeja sustained a hamstring injury during play on Day 4 of the first Test in Hyderabad, while Rahul complained of right quadriceps pain.”

Setbacks for Team India: Star Players Jadeja and Rahul Ruled Out, New Faces Join Squad for Second Test

The BCCI Medical Team is closely monitoring their progress, and in response to the setbacks, the Men’s Selection Committee has included Sarfaraz Khan, Sourabh Kumar, and Washington Sundar in India’s squad, as per the BCCI statement.

Despite India’s defeat by 28 runs in the first Test, Jadeja and Rahul were standout performers. Jadeja contributed with three wickets and 87 runs in the first innings, following it up with two more wickets in the second innings. However, concerns arose as Jadeja left the field with a hobble after being run out by Ben Stokes. Doctors advised him to rest due to difficulty walking and suboptimal health.

Rahul showcased his prowess with a brilliant 86 in the first innings and scored 22 in the second. The BCCI confirmed the inclusion of Sarfaraz Khan, Sourabh Kumar, and Washington Sundar for the upcoming Test starting on February 2.

Also Read: IND vs ENG: Top 6 Indian Batsmen With Most Runs Against England In Test Matches

India’s updated squad for the 2nd Test vs England: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar, and Sourabh Kumar.